Game Boy Interface

Release threads for homebrew & utilities only
pommel_jewel
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2018 9:42 am

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by pommel_jewel » Sun Jul 29, 2018 6:02 pm

Thank you for pointing me in the right direction, will give the SR version a try!
shinchandoidao6669
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2017 10:47 am

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by shinchandoidao6669 » Mon Jul 30, 2018 11:24 am

Hi Extrems!

The high-fidelity edition version works in this plug and play solutions?
I play a lot the speedrunning edition but i want play games with lower latency possible.
I thinking in update my s-video cables for a eon hdmi or cgplug plug or other solution. I dont have the money for pay the original component cables and my gamecube is the us version.
The image quality really is very bad with these gadgets?

Sorry for my english and thanks again for this god job! I like a lot the Game Boy Interface homebrew :)
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 630
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Mon Jul 30, 2018 4:56 pm

You'll get a worse picture with the high-fidelity edition and current GCVideo-DVI than you would with the other editions.
shinchandoidao6669
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2017 10:47 am

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by shinchandoidao6669 » Tue Jul 31, 2018 9:46 pm

Ok.

I wait the plug play hdmi with update firmware

:)
pommel_jewel
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2018 9:42 am

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by pommel_jewel » Wed Aug 01, 2018 8:07 pm

Could anyone give me a hand with the following:

I'm trying to do a scale of the speedrunning edition. I can't seem to figure out the right vertical filter coefficients for:

--zoom=2.75
--scan-mode=non-interlace

If I use the default settings or another coefficient setting copied from the other Wiki examples I get a strange flicker. But --vfilter=.5:.5:.0:.5:.0:.5 works with x3 and non-interlace, so I'm looking for the right values for 2.75.

And another thing: does the speedrunning edition support offseting? I've input a -2 offset on the y-axis at the bottom of my DOL, but the picture doesn't seem to move.

Thanks in advance, have a nice day/evening all.
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 630
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Wed Aug 01, 2018 8:20 pm

pommel_jewel wrote:
Wed Aug 01, 2018 8:07 pm
But --vfilter=.5:.5:.0:.5:.0:.5 works with x3 and non-interlace, so I'm looking for the right values for 2.75.
Those are the right values for any scale in non-interlace.
pommel_jewel wrote:
Wed Aug 01, 2018 8:07 pm
And another thing: does the speedrunning edition support offseting? I've input a -2 offset on the y-axis at the bottom of my DOL, but the picture doesn't seem to move.
Yes.
chloeh8zyou
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2018 8:19 pm

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by chloeh8zyou » Wed Aug 08, 2018 8:37 pm

Hey Extremes (or anyone by this point lol),

I'm currently having an issue with the software right now. I'm trying to make a backup of my GBA games to an SD Card. When I press the option to dump a ROM, it freezes and just says "Opening /(game ROM).GBA". Included are some pictures :cry: :mrgreen:

I have tried resetting the GameCube over and over but nothing seems to make it move past this. I've also left my GameCube on for nearly an hour without progression. I've tried backing up Super Mario Bros 3, Metroid Fusion, A Link to the Past, and Mario and Luigi: Superstar Saga. :|

Please help someone.

Thanks

Ps, I have been able to dump the GBA BIOS successfully ^-^ :lol:
Attachments
1533760701710977565041.jpg
(4.21 MiB) Not downloaded yet
15337604663991752609720.jpg
(2.14 MiB) Not downloaded yet
mattyjjenkins
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2018 9:59 am
Location: Worcester, England, Earth..
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by mattyjjenkins » Sat Aug 18, 2018 6:51 pm

WOW! Was so totally blown away with the GBI for Extrems been a huge fan of the Cubes GBPlayer since its launch but as with all my console collection I dont like 'messing around/playing with its internal stuff'
And only join this site today had no clue it existed but saw the original ( I think) started this thread.
So hopefully Im in the rite place? Just wanna say what a cracking bit of software it is! Really love it and if that was created from the ground up buy a 'guy in his bedroom' per-say, It baffles me why Nintendo decided to put such a shit show out (software wise!) although until Monday just gone Ive been using the official GBP disk and enjoying it!
But after seeing my GB/GBC/GBA games running in glorious 240P Ill never use the official disk again!

What a great job! Well done that man(or women!)
Pokefan531
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2017 3:56 pm

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Pokefan531 » Sat Aug 18, 2018 8:25 pm

Hey Extrems! I updated my shaders for the color space earlier this week. I included the LUTs in the package. I decided to redo the shaders for two weeks to see how it can be as close as the hardware for sRGB displays or close. The GBA has a noticable improvement so it doesn't look cold as much anymore.
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 630
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Sat Aug 18, 2018 9:47 pm

Yeah I've caught that. I should get on it soon enough.
--Zem--
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2016 10:14 pm

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by --Zem-- » Mon Aug 20, 2018 7:45 pm

Hi everybody,

I have a general question about using the GBI. Always when I start the gbi.dol, the gameboy start animation appears. This happens with and without an inserted game cartridge.
How can I access the menu to dump the game and save game?

Sorry if the answer is too trivial, but in the moment I do not see it.

Currently I boot swiss from a memory card in slot A via BMX HAX. Then I can start GBI (gbi-20180728) from an SD card in port B.
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 630
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Mon Aug 20, 2018 7:51 pm

Do you have something inserted in the link port? Is /gbi/default.mb.gz present on the SD card and in the proper location?
--Zem--
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2016 10:14 pm

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by --Zem-- » Mon Aug 20, 2018 9:51 pm

Extrems wrote:
Mon Aug 20, 2018 7:51 pm
Do you have something inserted in the link port? Is /gbi/default.mb.gz present on the SD card and in the proper location?
The link port is empty.
Thank you, yes, the folder was one mistake. Now the menu opens, when no cartridge is inserted. Otherwise the game starts and no menu appears.
When I wait for the menu and and insert a cartridge, the menu seams to freeze. I can not select anything, but the x-button is still working.

Update:
Now t is working: Mixing GBA and GB games was another issue.
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 630
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Tue Aug 28, 2018 3:55 pm

  • Updated color matrices by Pokefan531.
  • Updated LUTs by Pokefan531.
shinchandoidao6669
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2017 10:47 am

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by shinchandoidao6669 » Thu Sep 06, 2018 10:55 pm

https://twitter.com/Insurrection33/stat ... 0517788674

This a new gamecube plug and play hdmi adapter for 75 dolars. I hope this works with GBI
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 630
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Thu Sep 06, 2018 11:09 pm

It'll work with the same limitations as other products based on GCVideo-DVI 2.4a and earlier.
User avatar
MarioMania
Posts: 118
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 6:40 am

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by MarioMania » Fri Sep 07, 2018 12:18 am

I download it last night

I like it, I only tried it with Game Boy Games

Also like it saves pictures as PNG

I used it with the GB Camera
shinchandoidao6669
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2017 10:47 am

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by shinchandoidao6669 » Fri Sep 07, 2018 3:05 pm

Extrems wrote:
Thu Sep 06, 2018 11:09 pm
It'll work with the same limitations as other products based on GCVideo-DVI 2.4a and earlier.
:(
GizmoTheGreen
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2018 12:40 pm

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by GizmoTheGreen » Tue Sep 11, 2018 3:23 pm

shinchandoidao6669 wrote:
Fri Sep 07, 2018 3:05 pm
Extrems wrote:
Thu Sep 06, 2018 11:09 pm
It'll work with the same limitations as other products based on GCVideo-DVI 2.4a and earlier.
:(
maybe my eyes are just bad but I don't see a difference on those shots lol
eitherway I installed the pluto hdmi so I can update it when 2.5 hits...
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 630
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Tue Sep 11, 2018 4:01 pm

GizmoTheGreen wrote:
Tue Sep 11, 2018 3:23 pm
maybe my eyes are just bad but I don't see a difference on those shots lol
eitherway I installed the pluto hdmi so I can update it when 2.5 hits...
Image
Image
You really can't see this?
GizmoTheGreen
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2018 12:40 pm

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by GizmoTheGreen » Tue Sep 11, 2018 9:29 pm

oh I see some lines now in those test images. but I couldn't find anything in the game screenshots
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1647
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Streetwalker » Tue Sep 11, 2018 10:21 pm

This effect is cause by chroma subsampling, which can effectively be eliminated in the mode that doubles the horizontal resolution, but doesn't work with GCVideo currently because it doesn't know what to do with it.
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 630
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Tue Sep 11, 2018 11:23 pm

It's not. See the comparisons from a 4:2:2 capture device.
Image
Image
rodolfocm
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 3:53 pm

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by rodolfocm » Wed Sep 19, 2018 3:55 pm

Hey guys I have few questions.
I just got a GameCube + Game Boy Player and want to play it using Game Boy Interface. I know that one of the options is buying the SD Media Launcher, but that's quite expensive and I'm not sure if I could run downloaded games with that. I was thinking of modding it with the Xeno modchip. If I do that, can I burn the GBI in a mini-DVD and run it or do I still need a SD memory card to run GBI? Also is it possible to run GBI in an unmodded GameCube using the regular Action Replay?

Thanks!
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 630
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Wed Sep 19, 2018 4:02 pm

The SD Media Launcher is only £19.99 from the manufacturer. An SD card adapter is recommended.
Post Reply