Game Boy Interface

Release threads for homebrew & utilities only
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 775
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:56 am

DoctorDan wrote:
Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:34 am
...Except that it's not a GBI disc, it's a Memory Card Boot Disc. Loading it just goes back to the GameCube Startup screen. :(
Use a Wii to put GBI onto a memory card, or buy an SD card adapter.
DoctorDan
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2013 8:25 am

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by DoctorDan » Sun Jan 27, 2019 4:09 am

...except that's exactly what I don't want to do. *sigh*. Guess I'll just use that outdated gbi-20150508 from earlier in the thread.
theclaw
Posts: 324
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 12:01 pm

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by theclaw » Sun Jan 27, 2019 7:04 am

DoctorDan wrote:
Sun Jan 27, 2019 4:09 am
...except that's exactly what I don't want to do. *sigh*. Guess I'll just use that outdated gbi-20150508 from earlier in the thread.
An SD adapter costs like $3.

Unless I'm mistaken, the issue with burning GBI by itself to a disc is that the console can't pass parameters to it.
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1736
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Streetwalker » Sun Jan 27, 2019 8:43 am

theclaw wrote:
Sun Jan 27, 2019 7:04 am
Unless I'm mistaken, the issue with burning GBI by itself to a disc is that the console can't pass parameters to it.
That's easily worked around with appended arguments, the more annoying issue is having to burn and waste discs each time you want to change something or update GBI.
omikes
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 4:19 pm

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by omikes » Fri Feb 01, 2019 4:47 pm

Extrems wrote:
Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:56 am
DoctorDan wrote:
Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:34 am
...Except that it's not a GBI disc, it's a Memory Card Boot Disc. Loading it just goes back to the GameCube Startup screen. :(
Use a Wii to put GBI onto a memory card, or buy an SD card adapter.
Why should he have to spend three dollars when you can make him an updated disk image for free? Don't be unreasonable, Extrems.
User avatar
Liriel
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2018 4:55 pm
Location: Berlin - Germany

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Liriel » Fri Feb 01, 2019 5:20 pm

omikes wrote:
Fri Feb 01, 2019 4:47 pm


Why should he have to spend three dollars when you can make him an updated disk image for free? Don't be unreasonable, Extrems.
because every change you make with settings you need to burn a new disc.
or when they software got a update
the disc are got rare.
In Germany a 5-10disc package cost around 10 euro

and the boarders, video records and screenshots are not working when use a disc.

the memorycard with sd is easier and faster
omikes
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 4:19 pm

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by omikes » Fri Feb 01, 2019 6:57 pm

Liriel wrote:
Fri Feb 01, 2019 5:20 pm
omikes wrote:
Fri Feb 01, 2019 4:47 pm


Why should he have to spend three dollars when you can make him an updated disk image for free? Don't be unreasonable, Extrems.
because every change you make with settings you need to burn a new disc.
or when they software got a update
the disc are got rare.
In Germany a 5-10disc package cost around 10 euro

and the boarders, video records and screenshots are not working when use a disc.

the memorycard with sd is easier and faster
Sorry, I'm just being a sarcastic ass.
DoctorDan
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2013 8:25 am

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by DoctorDan » Sun Feb 03, 2019 8:08 am

I finally broke down and used my Wii to install the file onto my GC Memory Card, but I'm not pleased about it. It may be a minor quibble to you, but when I power on my GC to play a GB, GBC, or GBA game, it actually ANNOYS me to search through a Swiss menu to load up GBI.

I realize that, in the grand scheme of things, I'm being extraordinarily petty. A few seconds out of my life is hardly what one would legitimately be able to call an 'inconvenience'. But it bothers ME. For whatever reason, my OCD tendencies are treating this like sandpaper on my soul, and while it's not exactly RUINING the experience, it's definitely putting a bit of a ding in the bumper.

So instead of debating the merits of "Oh, this will save you from wasting discs" (valid to a point, but I already have copies of all the GC games I want, and something like fifty of the RiData minidiscs that I don't have any other use for), or "SD Card way is faster/easier" (which is only partially true, and I don't want a third party SD adapter - and it's impossible to find the branded Japanese ones), why not offer the option to the wasteful, impatient, and lazy types like me who just want to do a thing and have it work?
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1736
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Streetwalker » Sun Feb 03, 2019 1:07 pm

DoctorDan wrote:
Sun Feb 03, 2019 8:08 am
I finally broke down and used my Wii to install the file onto my GC Memory Card, but I'm not pleased about it. It may be a minor quibble to you, but when I power on my GC to play a GB, GBC, or GBA game, it actually ANNOYS me to search through a Swiss menu to load up GBI.
If you actually took the time to read the documentation for the software you're using, you'd know that Swiss has an auto-boot feature, which also supports loading command line arguments and the options menu if you want them.
DoctorDan wrote:
Sun Feb 03, 2019 8:08 am
why not offer the option to the wasteful, impatient, and lazy types like me who just want to do a thing and have it work?
Because your stance is idiotic, suck it up.
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 775
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Sun Feb 03, 2019 5:06 pm

DoctorDan wrote:
Sun Feb 03, 2019 8:08 am
I finally broke down and used my Wii to install the file onto my GC Memory Card, but I'm not pleased about it. It may be a minor quibble to you, but when I power on my GC to play a GB, GBC, or GBA game, it actually ANNOYS me to search through a Swiss menu to load up GBI.
You don't have to use Swiss.
theclaw
Posts: 324
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 12:01 pm

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by theclaw » Mon Feb 04, 2019 3:07 am

Extrems wrote:
Sun Feb 03, 2019 5:06 pm
DoctorDan wrote:
Sun Feb 03, 2019 8:08 am
I finally broke down and used my Wii to install the file onto my GC Memory Card, but I'm not pleased about it. It may be a minor quibble to you, but when I power on my GC to play a GB, GBC, or GBA game, it actually ANNOYS me to search through a Swiss menu to load up GBI.
You don't have to use Swiss.
What better option for GBI does XenoGC have? I thought it doesn't natively support loading software from a memory card or SD card.

Anyhow if it were me, I'd take the feedback into consideration for the GBI roadmap and see what can be done to make a bootable GBI disc a more user friendly solution.
DoctorDan
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2013 8:25 am

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by DoctorDan » Mon Feb 04, 2019 8:35 am

Streetwalker wrote:
Sun Feb 03, 2019 1:07 pm
Because your stance is idiotic, suck it up.
I know it's really, really hard for you...but try not to be a colossal cunt.
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1736
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Streetwalker » Mon Feb 04, 2019 8:37 am

DoctorDan wrote:
Mon Feb 04, 2019 8:35 am
I know it's really, really hard for you...but try not to be a colossal cunt.
Look who's talking.
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4540
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by emu_kidid » Mon Feb 04, 2019 9:47 am

DoctorDan wrote:
Mon Feb 04, 2019 8:35 am
Streetwalker wrote:
Sun Feb 03, 2019 1:07 pm
Because your stance is idiotic, suck it up.
I know it's really, really hard for you...but try not to be a colossal cunt.
You've been warned officially about this post, please keep it tame.

While I can't begin to fathom how OCD tendencies must make one feel, you're going to have to understand that people put their free time into developing this software and helping you out on this forum, taking minutes, hours or days of their time. Complaining about a few seconds for you to scroll through something in Swiss is petty as you say, so may I suggest you look into autoboot functionality, or you can avoid using Swiss entirely and boot directly to GBI with a appended CLI file with your settings hardcoded.
Image
theclaw
Posts: 324
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 12:01 pm

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by theclaw » Mon Feb 04, 2019 12:54 pm

emu_kidid wrote:
Mon Feb 04, 2019 9:47 am
You've been warned officially about this post, please keep it tame.

While I can't begin to fathom how OCD tendencies must make one feel, you're going to have to understand that people put their free time into developing this software and helping you out on this forum, taking minutes, hours or days of their time. Complaining about a few seconds for you to scroll through something in Swiss is petty as you say, so may I suggest you look into autoboot functionality, or you can avoid using Swiss entirely and boot directly to GBI with a appended CLI file with your settings hardcoded.
Yeah what was actually being asked for, is right on the money. GBI should be as practical/intuitive to run directly from a disc as the official Game Boy Player software.
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1736
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Streetwalker » Tue Feb 05, 2019 12:08 am

But that's not practical in its current state (no GUI for configuration) and no one outside of the GBI crowd actually wants to run any homebrew from a disc, because there's no good reason to do that. SD adapters are cheap and easy to use, and as long as you can boot into Swiss, you can have any set-up you want, including autobooting GBI with custom options. This has been documented and repeated over and over.
theclaw
Posts: 324
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 12:01 pm

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by theclaw » Tue Feb 05, 2019 12:43 am

Streetwalker wrote:
Tue Feb 05, 2019 12:08 am
But that's not practical in its current state (no GUI for configuration) and no one outside of the GBI crowd actually wants to run any homebrew from a disc, because there's no good reason to do that. SD adapters are cheap and easy to use, and as long as you can boot into Swiss, you can have any set-up you want, including autobooting GBI with custom options. This has been documented and repeated over and over.
Well the way I see it, a rudimentary GUI will make running it from a disc practical. Two birds with one stone so to speak.
omikes
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 4:19 pm

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by omikes » Tue Feb 05, 2019 5:02 pm

There is a way to configure the settings from a computer and then making it an autoboot file, or burning it to a regular memory card. Mine is inside of a modified Windwaker save on a regular 59 block memory card, which boots directly to GBI after pressing start after the game disk loads. An additional perk is that the disk can be removed from this point (even successfully reseting without any issues, booting right back into GBI), and without it the Gamecube is quite silent. It would be neat to have a GUI within GBI, but I believe Swiss would be a good option in cases where people will often be changing the settings.
theclaw
Posts: 324
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 12:01 pm

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by theclaw » Tue Feb 05, 2019 6:00 pm

omikes wrote:
Tue Feb 05, 2019 5:02 pm
There is a way to configure the settings from a computer and then making it an autoboot file, or burning it to a regular memory card. Mine is inside of a modified Windwaker save on a regular 59 block memory card, which boots directly to GBI after pressing start after the game disk loads. An additional perk is that the disk can be removed from this point (even successfully reseting without any issues, booting right back into GBI), and without it the Gamecube is quite silent. It would be neat to have a GUI within GBI, but I believe Swiss would be a good option in cases where people will often be changing the settings.
Neat. I know I'm too critical of homebrew whose interface (or lack thereof when it's as visually appealing as an MS-DOS prompt) deviates from what's expected of retail games.
crymsonfyre
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2019 6:26 am

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by crymsonfyre » Wed Feb 06, 2019 6:29 am

wasoha wrote:
Wed Jul 11, 2018 8:41 pm
Extrems wrote:
Wed Jul 11, 2018 4:43 pm
You get a wider zoom range in 16:9 since GBA is slightly wider than 4:3.

But if you insist, you can use the CLI append method and convert the DOL+CLI with dol2gci.
Thanks, yes I understand about the zoom range and the limits of using 4:3.
And thank you for pointing me in the right direction for configuration. Since I'm new I had no idea what a DOL or a CLI file were, but with that nudge in the right direction I was able to find more info by searching the thread and wiki.

With this wiki page I was able to figure out the arguments:
https://www.gc-forever.com/wiki/index.p ... rd_Edition
And from your post here I learned how to append CLI and convert:
viewtopic.php?t=2782&start=675#p38901

I'm all good now, behaving as expected. Start and Play, just how I like it.
Is there a way you can guide me through this? I am having the same exact issue. I enjoy all other games in 4:3, but when playing gameboy advance, I have to manually change my tv to make it seem more widened. It does not look good perfectly square in 4:3. Please thanks if you can help guide me to fix this issue.😄
dyl0n
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2019 12:27 am

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by dyl0n » Thu Feb 07, 2019 12:49 am

Hey guys. I'm brand new to this and hoping I can seek everyone's help without being too redundant and nooby.

I've done some research in the last 2 days but I'm not savvy with all this modding and file naming stuff. Long story short, I own the component cables and a Sony 20L5, and would like to achieve an easy way of getting it to display 240p and 480p in the lowest latency setting possible. I've discovered that over the last year the LL and ULL versions have been changed to the Speedrunning version. I watched My Life in Gamings video and in the old versions you were able to display in both of those resolutions via one of the low latency versions by using a 480p game then choosing whichever prompt on the progressive scan screen. I saw another video of someone demonstrating the more recent versions and it was said that the Speedrunning version only displays 240p now via CRT. Is this right or was the person mistaken? Also MLiG did this via action replay and SD reader, I'm looking to do the memory card hack and game exploit. Is this still possible and if so, is it possible by the game exploit method?
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 775
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Thu Feb 07, 2019 12:59 am

They're mistaken. See the default setting for --scan-mode.
dyl0n
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2019 12:27 am

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by dyl0n » Thu Feb 07, 2019 1:40 am

Extrems wrote:
Thu Feb 07, 2019 12:59 am
They're mistaken. See the default setting for --scan-mode.
So with the Speedrunning version you can still choose between 480p and 240p with the progressive scan screen? And again, is this also possible by the memory card hack or only via Action Replay? I came in contact with someone on ebay that makes dedicated GBI and Swiss memory cards, if being able to do both resolutions is possible with just the GBI memory card with the Speedrunning version I'll go that route and call it a day.
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 775
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Thu Feb 07, 2019 2:30 am

I'm afraid that eBay seller is infringing on my copyright then.
Xavier_Venir
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2019 4:36 am

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Xavier_Venir » Fri Feb 08, 2019 4:43 am

I'm having some issues running the high fidelity version off of a sd launcher. I keep getting these odd scrolling diagonal lines. I've tried tinkering with the display setting when booting though swiss but not much seems to work. I am currently using original av cables.
Post Reply