Page 70 of 70

Re: Game Boy Interface

Posted: Wed Oct 06, 2021 10:06 pm
by Extrems
VegaVegas wrote:
Wed Oct 06, 2021 9:26 pm
This plays almost perfectly the way it is, however there is still 1 frame of buffer delay so it's not as perfect as a real Gameboy.
Double buffered in GBIHF doesn't actually mean a frame of latency. When the clock phase allows, the buffer is filled just ahead of the scanout.

Re: Game Boy Interface

Posted: Thu Oct 07, 2021 12:07 am
by VegaVegas
What is the difference between GBIHF and GBISR then??

Re: Game Boy Interface

Posted: Thu Oct 07, 2021 3:46 am
by Extrems
Well, basically, everything? Note that GBIHF has limited use cases and yours isn't one of them.

In GBISR, it does mean a frame of latency.

Re: Game Boy Interface

Posted: Sun Oct 10, 2021 1:20 am
by Ronin64
Hi, I'm new to using Gameboy Interface and I have a question.
At the top of the Wiki, it says that it is strongly recommended to update to the latest version of GCVideo to use this software. Why exactly? Are there any risks involved or is it just compatibility issues? I have an older Carby that can't be updated easily and I would still like to use this software in the meantime until I can get it updated.
Thanks in advance & thanks for the great software.

Re: Game Boy Interface

Posted: Sun Oct 10, 2021 10:58 am
by Papy.G
I personally use a GCPlug with FW 2.4d with no problems, as long as I can do without the further improvements that adresses some limitations of the early versions.

You'll just have to face out known issues here and there, but It won't hurt your console or TV anyways.

Still, as soon as I get my hands on a TL866a, I'll upgrade to the V3+ FW.

Re: Game Boy Interface

Posted: Mon Nov 08, 2021 7:25 pm
by gaseoso
Hey, everyone.

I'm trying to set this up, but I can't make the overlays to show up. I tried reading the wiki and then reading through this thread, but I couldn't figure it out. My Gamecube is a US DOL-101 hooked to a CRT, so I only have 480i. I'm running Swiss r1215, and my settings for GBI are as follows:

Code: Select all

--format=ntsc
--scan-mode=interlace
--delay-reset=0
--overlay-id=1
However, the overlays don't seem to be loaded no matter what I do. I tried setting overlay to "01", tried moving the "frame" files to different folders, and nothing. Yes, I have downloaded the "extras" package, and I extracted it to my SD card (running through SD Gecko on slot B, although I can also use SP2 if it's necessary, since I hacked my DOL-101 to have a frontal SP2).

The files were set as follows: I have a GBI folder in my SD card's root directory. I'll call this "main GBI folder". Inside this main one, I have all the GBI files that came with the latest release, along with another GBI folder which was included in the release package. I'll call this "secondary GBI folder". I downloaded the "extras" package, and inside that file, there was yet another GBI folder, so I unpacked the contents of that folder into my own main GBI folder in the SD card. Nothing happened. I also tried unpacking the files into the secondary GBI folder. Nothing either.

What am I doing wrong? I'm using the GBIHF file to launch Gameboy Interface, btw.

Re: Game Boy Interface

Posted: Mon Nov 08, 2021 7:50 pm
by Extrems
GBIHF doesn't support overlays and isn't meant to be used in your setup.

Re: Game Boy Interface

Posted: Tue Nov 09, 2021 1:05 am
by gaseoso
Ah, that's a bummer :|

What would be the recommended for me then?

Re: Game Boy Interface

Posted: Tue Nov 09, 2021 11:22 am
by Diego borella
we often have a game cartridge, which may malfunction.
it would be possible to run games by GBI. through the game boy player without a cartridge in the slot?
or in a way that games were read from SD between swiss and gbi.
???

Re: Game Boy Interface

Posted: Tue Nov 09, 2021 10:29 pm
by Papy.G
GBI doesn't run games, it is just an interface to display what the GBPlayer has to display.

As-is, a GBPlayer, as a GBA, can run little programs, such as additionnal players' or Minigames off GC games (Animal crossing, chocobos, Sega chaosses…) or even emulators if small enough with the rom , connected to a source via the link cable. The GBPlayer can be feed from the GC via an internal link connection (there is a switch in the connector, to disable it, when an external cable is plugged in), but the limitations are almost the same. GBI has a dumping utility for Rom and Save memory areas, it is sent to the add-on this way.

What you want can only be achieved with a GBA linker/flashcart that simulates the cartrige hardware in the cart slot, without it, you have to use an emulator, for which the GBPlayer is useless, you have the choice on the GC: eMGBA, VBAgx, those in retroarch…


gaseoso> Read carefuly: https://www.gc-forever.com/wiki/index.p ... _Interface
You have specific section for each, in which you'll be able to see what settings each supports.

Re: Game Boy Interface

Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2021 10:21 pm
by gaseoso
Papy.G wrote:
Tue Nov 09, 2021 10:29 pm
gaseoso> Read carefuly: https://www.gc-forever.com/wiki/index.p ... _Interface
You have specific section for each, in which you'll be able to see what settings each supports.
I know, I paid close attention now. I mixed them all up lol :lol:

Alright, I think the best solution for me would be the Speedrunning edition, since compared to the standart one, it seems to have zero input lag, no motion blur, looks great on my CRT, and it supports borders. Very nice :)

Re: Game Boy Interface

Posted: Mon Nov 22, 2021 2:04 pm
by pcmspm
Hi,

First off, thanks for providing such a good piece of software!

I have a question - I wonder if it's possible to revert the control scheme to the same one as the Game Boy Player software uses? I went through the documentation on gc-forever wiki and couldn't find an answer.
The issue is that I was planning to use raphnet SNES-to-GC controller adapter, and the adapter was designed for the GBP control scheme. That is, it expects the GBA Select button to be mapped to Y on GC controller, and the GBP menu button to Z. As it is, the GBI (I'm using the Standard edition) maps GBA Select to Z, and the GBI menu (OSD) to X. While still usable, it's a bit inconvenient - with the raphnet adapter, I have to press SNES A+X to act as GBA Select, and I can't toggle the OSD (GC X is not mapped).

Thanks in advance for the reply.

Re: Game Boy Interface

Posted: Mon Nov 22, 2021 9:18 pm
by Papy.G
I think I have seen something about setting the scheme in the GBPlayer's original software so it is set in the console's SRAM, then kept when back into GBI, though I never tried.

What really eludes me, and prevents me from buying these Raphnet's adapter, is why they don't just pass button to button, plus Z for select, that would make way more sense as those are designed for retro-gaming (or aren't they?), playing S/NES, GB/A games.

Re: Game Boy Interface

Posted: Thu Nov 25, 2021 8:03 am
by Bumflufftornado
Howdy :D

I've gotten GBI HF working with retrotink 5x (using hd prism + component converter). I'm using the gbihf-ossc.dol+cli, and the Retrotink picks up the 360p signal and sets to optimal mode!

Super happy with everything but having one problem with Golden Sun.

The overworld map has some kind of "every-other frame flickering" that makes the map kinda nauseating. (This website post details more about it https://mgba.io/2020/01/21/mgba-0.8.0/).

Is there any setting with GBI-HF that negates the jitteriness, or is that just a perk of the complicated setup :P

Re: Game Boy Interface

Posted: Thu Nov 25, 2021 4:36 pm
by Extrems
It can only be mitigated in GBI and GBISR.

Re: Game Boy Interface

Posted: Fri Nov 26, 2021 2:44 am
by Bumflufftornado
Extrems wrote:
Thu Nov 25, 2021 4:36 pm
It can only be mitigated in GBI and GBISR.
Thanks so much for you assistance again!

I noticed the game also bumps slightly left when entering battles/certain dialogues. I feel like it's not doing it in GBI, do you think that's caused by the same effect? I'm just curious at this point so I know what to accept in future games :)

(I made a 5 second clip of it, sorry it's on twitch this was easiest for me to share https://clips.twitch.tv/DullFantasticSa ... pDe11zW7xs )

Re: Game Boy Interface

Posted: Fri Nov 26, 2021 4:12 am
by Extrems
That's the auto-phase doing funny things as usual, but it looks like you forgot to turn off chroma interpolation on your Prism, which would confuse the auto-phase.

Re: Game Boy Interface

Posted: Fri Nov 26, 2021 5:30 am
by Bumflufftornado
Extrems wrote:
Fri Nov 26, 2021 4:12 am
That's the auto-phase doing funny things as usual, but it looks like you forgot to turn off chroma interpolation on your Prism, which would confuse the auto-phase.
Wow good call! That's gone and fixed it. Sorry for missing that step in the guide ><

Thanks heaps :) I think it's looking really good and playing great so far.