GCOM

Release threads for homebrew & utilities only
Post Reply
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4373
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

GCOM

Post by emu_kidid » Thu Apr 01, 2010 1:18 pm

GCOM was a tool written by softdev which can backup discs with the Nintendo Broadband Adapter (BBA). It is also capable of playing back backed up discs on DVD-R. It is the fastest known tool for backing up over the BBA with speeds of up to 1.8mb/s, dumping a complete game in under 20 minutes.

GCOM 2.3
gcom23.zip
(94.91 KiB) Downloaded 485 times
GCOM 2.4 (Latest Version)
gcom24.7z
(125.55 KiB) Downloaded 735 times
Image
inukaze
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:27 pm

Re: GCOM

Post by inukaze » Tue Apr 10, 2012 10:12 am

Gcom 2.4 is just for DVD ??? dont exist a "SD" Version ???
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4373
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: GCOM

Post by emu_kidid » Tue Apr 10, 2012 10:14 am

Dumps FROM DVD TO PC via Broadband Adapter.
Image
inukaze
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:27 pm

Re: GCOM

Post by inukaze » Sat Apr 14, 2012 4:55 am

Mission Imposible for me

1 - Dont Cash
2 - In Venezuela dont sell anything of gamecube ( no BBA , no Memory for Gamecube , no Controls of Gamecube , no Wavebirds ) just things for "Wii" compatibles with "Gamecube"

Because of That i can't dump to PC , and where is the source code ???

About another thing , I cant use "SDLoad" in my NGC from my SDAdapter , this is normal ???
After 35 Segs , if i push a button , i see a "Red Screen" with some direcctions , with "DSI Exeption" or "Program Exception" and i should press start to reboot the gamecube
Ikthias
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 8:42 am

Re: GCOM

Post by Ikthias » Tue Feb 18, 2014 3:16 am

In the readme for 2.4 it says to load the gcom dol file, where do i get the that file? it wasn't in the archive i downloaded.
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4373
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: GCOM

Post by emu_kidid » Tue Feb 18, 2014 3:22 am

Run the .exe, it will make a .DOL with your IP baked into it.
Image
Ikthias
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 8:42 am

Re: GCOM

Post by Ikthias » Tue Feb 18, 2014 3:24 am

does it create the dol somewhere specific? cause it didn't in the folder the exe is in

Edit: could it be because I'm running Windows 7 x64?
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4373
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: GCOM

Post by emu_kidid » Tue Feb 18, 2014 4:02 am

run it from command line.
Image
Ikthias
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 8:42 am

Re: GCOM

Post by Ikthias » Tue Feb 18, 2014 4:28 am

nothing, still the same thing, which is that it flashed a command prompt window for about a second and thats it, no file is created. i can paste what the cmd prompt said when i tried to run it though if you like.
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4373
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: GCOM

Post by emu_kidid » Tue Feb 18, 2014 4:53 am

You need to pass 3 parameters to it:

C:\GCOM>gcom24config.exe -pcip 192.168.1.100 -gcip 192.168.1.32 -mask 255.255.255.0
GCOM 2.4 - GameCube Communications Utility
Copr.(c) softdev 2005,2006

PC IP Address : 192.168.1.100
GC IP Address : 192.168.1.32
Network mask : 255.255.255.0
Built with d0lLZ 3.0 Technology!
Thanks for choosing GCOM - Enjoy!

C:\GCOM>ls
GCOM24.dol GCOM24.txt gcom24config gcom24config.exe
Image
Ikthias
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 8:42 am

Re: GCOM

Post by Ikthias » Tue Feb 18, 2014 5:13 am

This is all i got:

C:\Users\Ikthias\Documents\Gamecube\Homebrew\gcom24>gcom24config.exe
GCOM 2.4 - GameCube Communications Utility
Copr.(c) softdev 2005,2006

Usage : GCOM24Config -pcip 192.168.1.100 -gcip 192.168.1.32 -mask 255.255.255.0
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4373
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: GCOM

Post by emu_kidid » Tue Feb 18, 2014 5:31 am

I think you need to learn how to pass parameters to a commandline executable otherwise you'll have major issues!

Read the usage, it's telling you what to do.
Image
Ikthias
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 8:42 am

Re: GCOM

Post by Ikthias » Tue Feb 18, 2014 5:43 am

but i dont have a dol file so how can i connect gcom to the gamecube?
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4373
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: GCOM

Post by emu_kidid » Tue Feb 18, 2014 5:56 am

You are failing to understand the process...

1. use gcom24config.exe which will MAKE a .DOL file with the PC/GC/Subnet IP's hardcoded in the .DOL it produces.
2. Run the DOL it made on the GameCube, follow on screen stuff
3. Connect via HTTP to grab the dump!
Image
Ikthias
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 8:42 am

Re: GCOM

Post by Ikthias » Tue Feb 18, 2014 5:57 am

Got it, sorry it took me a bit to get it. Thanks for the help =)
RetroProf
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2016 2:39 pm

Re: GCOM

Post by RetroProf » Sun Mar 20, 2016 4:34 pm

I produced the DOL, booted it via Swiss, hit A, put a disc in, then tried to access the HTTP via a browser, and it failed.

It said "can't find internet page".

I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong.

I used IPConfig to check my own PC's IP address, so that's correct, but it just won't connect. I also disabled the firewalls. :(

EDIT:
I then tried WGET to grab the ISO. I also ping'd the IP address, and there's definitely a connection. But WGET said "Read Error (Unknown Error) in Headers"

It tried a few times then quit. What's the problem?
Post Reply