Page 1 of 1

GCOM

Posted: Thu Apr 01, 2010 1:18 pm
by emu_kidid
GCOM was a tool written by softdev which can backup discs with the Nintendo Broadband Adapter (BBA). It is also capable of playing back backed up discs on DVD-R. It is the fastest known tool for backing up over the BBA with speeds of up to 1.8mb/s, dumping a complete game in under 20 minutes.

GCOM 2.3
gcom23.zip
(94.91 KiB) Downloaded 551 times
GCOM 2.4 (Latest Version)
gcom24.7z
(125.55 KiB) Downloaded 831 times

Re: GCOM

Posted: Tue Apr 10, 2012 10:12 am
by inukaze
Gcom 2.4 is just for DVD ??? dont exist a "SD" Version ???

Re: GCOM

Posted: Tue Apr 10, 2012 10:14 am
by emu_kidid
Dumps FROM DVD TO PC via Broadband Adapter.

Re: GCOM

Posted: Sat Apr 14, 2012 4:55 am
by inukaze
Mission Imposible for me

1 - Dont Cash
2 - In Venezuela dont sell anything of gamecube ( no BBA , no Memory for Gamecube , no Controls of Gamecube , no Wavebirds ) just things for "Wii" compatibles with "Gamecube"

Because of That i can't dump to PC , and where is the source code ???

About another thing , I cant use "SDLoad" in my NGC from my SDAdapter , this is normal ???
After 35 Segs , if i push a button , i see a "Red Screen" with some direcctions , with "DSI Exeption" or "Program Exception" and i should press start to reboot the gamecube

Re: GCOM

Posted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 3:16 am
by Ikthias
In the readme for 2.4 it says to load the gcom dol file, where do i get the that file? it wasn't in the archive i downloaded.

Re: GCOM

Posted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 3:22 am
by emu_kidid
Run the .exe, it will make a .DOL with your IP baked into it.

Re: GCOM

Posted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 3:24 am
by Ikthias
does it create the dol somewhere specific? cause it didn't in the folder the exe is in

Edit: could it be because I'm running Windows 7 x64?

Re: GCOM

Posted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 4:02 am
by emu_kidid
run it from command line.

Re: GCOM

Posted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 4:28 am
by Ikthias
nothing, still the same thing, which is that it flashed a command prompt window for about a second and thats it, no file is created. i can paste what the cmd prompt said when i tried to run it though if you like.

Re: GCOM

Posted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 4:53 am
by emu_kidid
You need to pass 3 parameters to it:

C:\GCOM>gcom24config.exe -pcip 192.168.1.100 -gcip 192.168.1.32 -mask 255.255.255.0
GCOM 2.4 - GameCube Communications Utility
Copr.(c) softdev 2005,2006

PC IP Address : 192.168.1.100
GC IP Address : 192.168.1.32
Network mask : 255.255.255.0
Built with d0lLZ 3.0 Technology!
Thanks for choosing GCOM - Enjoy!

C:\GCOM>ls
GCOM24.dol GCOM24.txt gcom24config gcom24config.exe

Re: GCOM

Posted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 5:13 am
by Ikthias
This is all i got:

C:\Users\Ikthias\Documents\Gamecube\Homebrew\gcom24>gcom24config.exe
GCOM 2.4 - GameCube Communications Utility
Copr.(c) softdev 2005,2006

Usage : GCOM24Config -pcip 192.168.1.100 -gcip 192.168.1.32 -mask 255.255.255.0

Re: GCOM

Posted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 5:31 am
by emu_kidid
I think you need to learn how to pass parameters to a commandline executable otherwise you'll have major issues!

Read the usage, it's telling you what to do.

Re: GCOM

Posted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 5:43 am
by Ikthias
but i dont have a dol file so how can i connect gcom to the gamecube?

Re: GCOM

Posted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 5:56 am
by emu_kidid
You are failing to understand the process...

1. use gcom24config.exe which will MAKE a .DOL file with the PC/GC/Subnet IP's hardcoded in the .DOL it produces.
2. Run the DOL it made on the GameCube, follow on screen stuff
3. Connect via HTTP to grab the dump!

Re: GCOM

Posted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 5:57 am
by Ikthias
Got it, sorry it took me a bit to get it. Thanks for the help =)

Re: GCOM

Posted: Sun Mar 20, 2016 4:34 pm
by RetroProf
I produced the DOL, booted it via Swiss, hit A, put a disc in, then tried to access the HTTP via a browser, and it failed.

It said "can't find internet page".

I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong.

I used IPConfig to check my own PC's IP address, so that's correct, but it just won't connect. I also disabled the firewalls. :(

EDIT:
I then tried WGET to grab the ISO. I also ping'd the IP address, and there's definitely a connection. But WGET said "Read Error (Unknown Error) in Headers"

It tried a few times then quit. What's the problem?