Twilight Hack for GameCube

Discussion / Support for Softmods (SDML, AR, Game Hacks)
Post Reply
FIX94
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 1:55 pm

Twilight Hack for GameCube

Post by FIX94 » Thu Feb 18, 2016 9:19 pm

I'm sure some of you remember the original Twilight Hack for Wii, well this is the exact same thing only that it runs on GC and loads a boot.dol from your memory card.

Grab yourself the current release and install it with a softmodded Wii and GCMM.
The exploit loads a boot.dol installed on your memory card converted with dol2gci (as found in Home Bros) so make sure to also install one with GCMM, it will just crash otherwise.

If you are interested in the source its included on the github page.

See it in action right here loading GBI:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BO89dmKzBw4
Last edited by FIX94 on Fri Aug 31, 2018 11:07 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
manic.blood
Posts: 69
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2013 9:33 am
Location: The North usually

Re: Twilight Hack for GameCube

Post by manic.blood » Fri Feb 19, 2016 7:27 am

Wow looks like I'm going to have to get out the cube and fire her upbagain.
This is great, especially since sdgeckos are becoming rare.
Time for some Quake or Not64 on there.

What is your favourite gamecube homebrew?
vinzanity
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 5:35 am

Re: Twilight Hack for GameCube

Post by vinzanity » Wed Feb 24, 2016 12:15 am

Fix94, just for kicks, I tried running a backup Twilight Princess on my Xeno-Modded gamecube just to simulate the exploit. Unfortunately here is what I get when talking to the person. Yes I know I'm modded but I just wanted to try as I have the US and JAP Smash Bros (original) and it would be fun to acquire Twilight Princess for my other Gamecube which is not modded.
Spoiler
Show
Image
Aressi
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 5:36 pm
Location: Mexico
Contact:

Re: Twilight Hack for GameCube

Post by Aressi » Wed Feb 24, 2016 3:48 pm

is there a way to do it on Colosseum/XD buffer overflow exploit?
FIX94
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 1:55 pm

Re: Twilight Hack for GameCube

Post by FIX94 » Wed Feb 24, 2016 5:54 pm

Aressi wrote:is there a way to do it on Colosseum/XD buffer overflow exploit?
I dont own them but I can take a look at it in dolphin, you can probably write something up for them.
User avatar
47iscool
Posts: 140
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2013 8:50 am
Location: Blast Processing
Contact:

Re: Twilight Hack for GameCube

Post by 47iscool » Sun Feb 28, 2016 6:01 pm

Awesome work fix94, thanks a lot!

I knew it could be done.
Stormcloak Soldier
Blake5100
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 4:32 pm

Re: Twilight Hack for GameCube

Post by Blake5100 » Fri Jul 07, 2017 5:47 pm

I've used this exploit for a long time now without any problems. Today I went to go use it and it didn't work (check the photo listed below). I've tried re-installing the exploit and still no luck. I tried out the home bros exploit and it worked perfectly. Does anyone know what exactly is going wrong?
Spoiler
Show
Image
Asaki
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat May 19, 2018 8:57 am

Re: Twilight Hack for GameCube

Post by Asaki » Sat May 19, 2018 9:12 am

I'm having the same issue as in the photos, with an NTSC-U copy of the game, on a regular gray 59 memory card.

I can try installing on a different memory card (the black one), but I'm not sure that that will make a difference (edit: it didn't).

My copy of Wind Waker is on loan, so I don't have any other games I can run exploits with =( I just bought a Game Boy Player so I could run GBI on it.
Asaki
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat May 19, 2018 8:57 am

Re: Twilight Hack for GameCube

Post by Asaki » Fri Jun 01, 2018 10:13 am

I've ordered a copy of Agent Under Fire. Hopefully that one works.
FIX94
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 1:55 pm

Re: Twilight Hack for GameCube

Post by FIX94 » Sun Aug 26, 2018 9:35 pm

so to anyone that had issue with v1.0, I just released v1.1 of the exploit that triggers right after pressing start on the title screen, maybe this will fix your issues, let me know.
Post Reply