Wii Swiss Booter

Find all your Nintendo Wii related topics here
WiiPower
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 5:57 pm

Wii Swiss Booter

Post by WiiPower » Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:42 pm

Version 0.3:
http://www.mediafire.com/?hxd1skdqmr9qzzz
(savegame date bug fixed)

Version 0.2:
http://www.mediafire.com/?l94drvg5efk2g03

Version 0.1:
http://www.mediafire.com/?spdzt88k4zfwaxx

What's this?
This program searches all storage for the swiss executable and then runs it in gamecube mode. It does require a cMIOS to do this like other gamecube homebrew booters. But this is modified to execute one command MIOS would execute and which is required to reset the drive. Short: Other gamecube homebrew booters may not allow the booted gamecube homebrew to reset the drive, this one does.

Recommend cMIOS:
http://www.mediafire.com/?4ayvwgqey66qc9v

Current status:
- No graphics output at all
- No errors or warnings, it will either work or not
- USB storage might not be working(did not work for me, but the code is there...)

I'm open to suggestions on how to improve this or how to spell the text for the HBC better.
Last edited by WiiPower on Sun May 15, 2011 10:11 am, edited 4 times in total.
User avatar
Cubelover
Posts: 313
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 1:22 am

Re: Wii Swiss Booter

Post by Cubelover » Sun Jan 30, 2011 7:17 pm

That's quite useful, thanks :)
This way, by modifying the source code we could theoretically make for each gc homebrew its own forwarder application for the HBC.
WiiPower
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 5:57 pm

Re: Wii Swiss Booter

Post by WiiPower » Sun Jan 30, 2011 7:33 pm

Yes, but i the only app for which i actually see a use, would be Swiss. Maybe Gecko OS for gamecube too, but my Gecko OS mod should be able to replace it completely.
User avatar
Cubelover
Posts: 313
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 1:22 am

Re: Wii Swiss Booter

Post by Cubelover » Sun Jan 30, 2011 9:06 pm

Well, here are my test results with latest SD-Boot (RC4).

/apps/Swiss/swiss.dol

Front-SD: Black Screen, Wiimote lost synch, no sound from the DVD drive
SDGecko Slot A: Black Screen, Wiimote lost synch, no sound from the DVD drive
SDGecko Slot B: Black Screen, Wiimote lost synch, no sound from the DVD drive
USB-Stick: Black Screen, Wiimote lost synch, no sound from the DVD drive

/swiss.dol

Front-SD: Black Screen, Wiimote lost synch, no sound from the DVD drive
SDGecko Slot A: Black Screen, Wiimote lost synch, no sound from the DVD drive
SDGecko Slot B: Black Screen, Wiimote lost synch, no sound from the DVD drive
USB-Stick: Black Screen, Wiimote lost synch, no sound from the DVD drive

I have WiiGators cMIOSv4 and HBC 1.0.8 installed. Dont have priiloader or anything that could affect gc mode.

With WiiXplorer SD-Boot worked flawlessly.
WiiPower
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 5:57 pm

Re: Wii Swiss Booter

Post by WiiPower » Sun Jan 30, 2011 10:41 pm

Then i guess i have to write some error messages. Good thing i started this before the Swiss release i would say.

Edit: I think i know what's wrong. I tested SD Boot beta 4(don't know exactly, just downloaded the 1st i found), which apparently has another entrypoint. RC4 has a very low and unexpected entrypoint. This should be fixable.
User avatar
Cubelover
Posts: 313
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 1:22 am

Re: Wii Swiss Booter

Post by Cubelover » Mon Jan 31, 2011 1:35 am

I tested Swiss Booter with any SD-Boot revision I could find and yes, only 0.4 Final works (the one with the largest file size).

I made a package with almost any SD-Boot versions released in case they are helpful. Some of them have source included.
http://npshare.de/files/4cc9557a/SD-Boo ... ackage.rar
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4496
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Wii Swiss Booter

Post by emu_kidid » Mon Jan 31, 2011 2:29 am

WiiPower, Swiss will have 0x80003100 entry point.
Image
WiiPower
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 5:57 pm

Re: Wii Swiss Booter

Post by WiiPower » Mon Jan 31, 2011 7:34 am

Thanks. I think i'll try to make it compatible with a greater variety of entrypoints and sizes anyways, maybe someone wants to use this for some other app and then it will help.
WiiPower
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 5:57 pm

Re: Wii Swiss Booter

Post by WiiPower » Mon Jan 31, 2011 11:33 pm

Ok, the problem wasn't the entrypoint, i removed something i shouldn't remove...

Tests with version 0.2 were successful with SD Boot RC4, that > 1MB SD Boot beta and Gecko OS 1.06d for gamecube.

Graphics for errors will be added somewhen later.
DJShotz
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 11:16 pm

Re: Wii Swiss Booter

Post by DJShotz » Wed Feb 02, 2011 3:16 am

Hey WiiPower I made this for the icon I think it gives a nice touch let me know what you think :-). Also just wanted to let you know I tried to boot off of a backed up DVD with no luck. I will be getting my SD Gecko soon.
Image
Attachments
icon.png
(4.62 KiB) Not downloaded yet
WiiPower
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 5:57 pm

Re: Wii Swiss Booter

Post by WiiPower » Wed Feb 02, 2011 10:49 am

DJShotz wrote:Hey WiiPower I made this for the icon I think it gives a nice touch let me know what you think :-). Also just wanted to let you know I tried to boot off of a backed up DVD with no luck. I will be getting my SD Gecko soon.
Image
I will use that icon if somebody tells me that it's legal to use it.

What did you try to boot from DVD? The Wii Swiss Booter or Swiss itself? If you really need to boot the Wii Swiss Booter from DVD and it doesn't work, i'll try to fix it, but i can't really imagine such a scenario.
DJShotz
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 11:16 pm

Re: Wii Swiss Booter

Post by DJShotz » Wed Feb 02, 2011 1:24 pm

Awesome. Well I got Swiss to load up perfectly with your .dol I placed emu's .dol in the same apps folder to get it started. Once it started I placed a few backed up gc dvd games to load but it would just error out. I tried an actual copy of a Gamecube game and it worked just fine (minus audio). Am I missing something? I know the backup games work because I try them on neogama without a problem.
WiiPower
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 5:57 pm

Re: Wii Swiss Booter

Post by WiiPower » Wed Feb 02, 2011 2:28 pm

DVD backups on a Wii won't work with Swiss, that's a feature that does only work on a gamecube. If you want them on a Wii, you're stuck with NeoGamma.
DJShotz
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 11:16 pm

Re: Wii Swiss Booter

Post by DJShotz » Wed Feb 02, 2011 2:58 pm

Oh no that's fine the whole purpose of this is so we don't have to use DVDs which I support 100% ... I was just wondering if the DVD backups were supposed to work which you answered... Thank you very much as soon as I get my Gecko I'll do more testing :-)
thesund0g
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 5:20 am

Re: Wii Swiss Booter

Post by thesund0g » Sun Feb 06, 2011 6:51 am

Can the Wii pass arguments on to Swiss? I'm hoping we could tie this in with one of the loaders for maximum coverflow win (and finally 1 gui to load everything).
WiiPower
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 5:57 pm

Re: Wii Swiss Booter

Post by WiiPower » Sun Feb 06, 2011 12:47 pm

It could be done, but it would require quite some changes in Swiss, which i guess is very low priority for now.
sm4rty
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 11:19 am

Re: Wii Swiss Booter

Post by sm4rty » Mon Feb 07, 2011 6:28 pm

which cMIOS is needed for this tool? i think there are a few different cMIOS', from waninkoko and Hermes and WiiGator i think.
please help me out :)

thanks
WiiPower
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 5:57 pm

Re: Wii Swiss Booter

Post by WiiPower » Mon Feb 07, 2011 6:31 pm

This one:
http://www.mediafire.com/?4ayvwgqey66qc9v

Waninkoko's is not compatible, original WiiGator's might be a bit instable(up to 1 out 5 boots crashing). As far as i know there's no cMIOS from Hermes, you mix that up with cIOS. You will need some kind of patched IOS to install the cMIOS though, except you are still on system menu 3.2 or lower.
sm4rty
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 11:19 am

Re: Wii Swiss Booter

Post by sm4rty » Mon Feb 07, 2011 6:53 pm

i hate my wii :( updated from 3.2 to 4.2 four weeks ago :(

hmm i have cios rev 14 or so.
what do i have to patch to install this cMIOS?
WiiPower
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 5:57 pm

Re: Wii Swiss Booter

Post by WiiPower » Mon Feb 07, 2011 6:58 pm

Just try to load IOS236 if you have it in the installer. If not, IOS249. Anyways, it can't harm your wii, it will either work or not.
sm4rty
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 11:19 am

Re: Wii Swiss Booter

Post by sm4rty » Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:09 pm

okay im trying to get it working :)

shame on me that i have not an IDE harddisk to test the ide-exi adaptor which arrived today
User avatar
ALSINJAN
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 7:08 am

Re: Wii Swiss Booter

Post by ALSINJAN » Fri Aug 12, 2011 8:18 am

I have installed on my Wii cMios WiiPower v10 v0.2 (see meta.xml attached) for use with SDBoot RC4 and SD Gecko.
Do I need to change it?.
If I change, will it be compatible with SDBoot?.
Thank you.
Attachments
meta.zip
(439 Bytes) Downloaded 273 times
User avatar
Shinebi
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 1:57 pm

Re: Wii Swiss Booter

Post by Shinebi » Thu Dec 22, 2011 10:45 am

Thanks for the share.
I guess I needed this to get the forwarder working as well...
Naxil
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 10:56 pm

Re: Wii Swiss Booter

Post by Naxil » Tue Jan 24, 2012 1:23 pm

Hi wiipower.. i have two question.
1 your swissbooter 0.3 is good for me. Sometimes swissbooter reset my wii. After one reset (i have priiloader and boot on HBC) swiss run perfectly.
2 exist any Channel for Swiss or swissbooter?
Vague Rant
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 3:16 pm

Re: Wii Swiss Booter

Post by Vague Rant » Fri Apr 20, 2012 3:26 pm

WiiPower, Extrems suggested on IRC (a few hours ago and from memory, so I may need correcting on the specifics) that your booter would need to add support for the new 576p VI timing recently added to Swiss. As is, 576p apparently won't work when Swiss is launched via your tool.

I can go as far as saying that 576p doesn't work for me on builds I've tested with that exact setup (SwissBoot > Swiss > Force 576p), with my 576p-capable TV reporting no signal when the Wii switches to that mode. That said, I don't have any other rig on which to test this, so I can't confirm that that's the (only) issue.

I'd say Extrems probably knows what he's talking about, though. Hopefully we can all benefit from glorious 576p soon.
Post Reply