Swiss 0.2
Re: Swiss 0.2
I don't understand what was wrong with my question.
To me, it looks like some functions are being called twice. I know this will not effect the stability of the program, but it seems unnecessary.
To me, it looks like some functions are being called twice. I know this will not effect the stability of the program, but it seems unnecessary.
Re: Swiss 0.2
That's just one library that you need (if i'm not wrong, long time since i learned a little bit of C) for some commands.
e.g. if you want to display something, you need the command "printf". Printf is a command in the "stdio.h" library (correct me if i'm wrong).
So there would be "#include<stdio.h>"
e.g. if you want to display something, you need the command "printf". Printf is a command in the "stdio.h" library (correct me if i'm wrong).
So there would be "#include<stdio.h>"
-
- Posts: 30
- Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 11:11 am
- Location: Portugal
Re: Swiss 0.2
I haven't looked at the source code yet but, if swiss.h is included in swiss.c, and gccore.h ins included in swiss.h, then you don't need to include gccore.h in swiss.cKirovAir wrote:You might wanna ask those questions again after you've learned some programming..Paul.str wrote:Why do you include swiss.h in swiss.c, but then re-include a number of functions that are already called in swiss.h?
(#include <gccore.h>) for example is in both swiss.h and swiss.c.
I don't know much about programming, though.
Re: Swiss 0.2
It is common to include the needed header files in every file, so you can use a file (let's say framebuffer stuff or fat access) in an other project and dont need to bother. It wont hurt, because most files have a c pre-processor directive to be just included once.
-
- Posts: 30
- Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 11:11 am
- Location: Portugal
Re: Swiss 0.2
True.infact wrote:It wont hurt, because most files have a c pre-processor directive to be just included once.
Re: Swiss 0.2
yes, my include files are probably put in more than once however each one should be defined once only as they're wrapped by the c pre-processor directive #ifndef meaning, if anything below this point hasn't been defined, define it.
I haven't had the luxury to make my includes neat and tidy and I don't really feel a need to do it.
I haven't had the luxury to make my includes neat and tidy and I don't really feel a need to do it.

-
- Posts: 448
- Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 4:11 pm
- Location: Germany
Re: Swiss 0.2
does swiss still need a disc in the drive for booting games?
Re: Swiss 0.2
Hi everybody. How exactly works "force 480p"? I tried it with my PAL Metroid Prime and it seems that it's not in full 480p, but rather in 480i format which is converted to progressive scan (the picture is still a bit blurry).
And because it's running in 50Hz, it seems that the gameplay is a little faster than usual. Is it going to be fixed someday or is this final (probably just emu_kidid knows for certain)? Thanks.
And because it's running in 50Hz, it seems that the gameplay is a little faster than usual. Is it going to be fixed someday or is this final (probably just emu_kidid knows for certain)? Thanks.
Re: Swiss 0.2
Paar86, planning to add 576p support at some point for PAL forcing to look a bit more decent but that's as far as it can probably go.

Re: Swiss 0.2
50Hz is outdated nowadays. Not sure why your PAL Metroid Prime runs at 50Hz if you force 480p. It should run at 60Hz. Perhaps it's a bug.
Re: Swiss 0.2
It's a problem that probably can't be fixed if a game is hard coded to run at a fixed rate of 50Hz and suddenly it's running in 60Hz mode...

Re: Swiss 0.2
But the PAL version of Metroid Prime supports both 50Hz (576i) and 60Hz (480i) natively. If you press the B button when booting the game you can choose between 50Hz and 60Hz.
Re: Swiss 0.2
That would be nice. So, would it be true 576p or "just" 576i picture displayed as progressive?emu_kidid wrote:Paar86, planning to add 576p support at some point for PAL forcing to look a bit more decent but that's as far as it can probably go.
It's really shame that it's impossible to boot PAL Metroid Prime in true 480p. Solution would be to buy JAP version of the game (as it has most of the PAL new features), but even then it would be in Japanese...
Re: Swiss 0.2
Not sure but isn't the main.dol of a game responsible for the video mode? Couldn't a main.dol be hacked or replaced with the japanese version?
Re: Swiss 0.2
I already tried that, but it gives nothing but black screen. I think it would be possible. The problem is, I don't know how should I hack the .dol file to make it work.
However I managed to toggle English in the JAP version of Metroid Prime. Problem is that text is too big and is overlapping the text area. Should be enough to change a font size, but again - I don't know how to do it.
However I managed to toggle English in the JAP version of Metroid Prime. Problem is that text is too big and is overlapping the text area. Should be enough to change a font size, but again - I don't know how to do it.
Re: Swiss 0.2
Hm.. I think Swiss already patches the main.dol on-the-fly when choosing a video mode. And if this doesn't work properly with 480p then I guess you have to alter something else in the game's code. It's like the PAL version of WWE All Stars for the Wii. The programers have for some odd reason decided to make this game 50Hz and 50Hz only. Forcing video mode doesn't work. So I guess there is another part of the story than just the main.dol.
Re: Swiss 0.2
If a game natively supports 50/60Hz switching, only the default mode will work. I need to look into writing something better that'll work when you select 60Hz (resize the screen).

Re: Swiss 0.2
Now, if I boot a swiss through PSOload, and the gamecube was already switched to Progressive Scan mode, does it stay in progressive scan as swiss, and whatever game swiss launches, runs?
Using forced mode makes Timesplitters look weird at the top and bottom, my TV doesn't tell me if its progressive scan or interlaced.
Using forced mode makes Timesplitters look weird at the top and bottom, my TV doesn't tell me if its progressive scan or interlaced.
- megalomaniac
- Posts: 2480
- Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
- Location: Drunk in Texas
- Contact:
Re: Swiss 0.2
does this require the GC to "sense" connectivity to the MX chip?emu_kidid wrote:it'll use progressive for Swiss if a progressive cable is found.
i imagine this would be the same for all GC;s PAL and NTSC
which also means forced progressive mode requires the MX chip for all GC's
just want to clarify this since i have never used swiss to force progressive...
but at the same time, when forcing progressive on a wii, will only a wii component cable or HDMIkey allow "sense" in the same manor since wii requires a pin short to allow progressive ability...(different from GC manor of "sense")
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving



Re: Swiss 0.2
@emu_kidid: Is it possible to force a (PAL) game to output 576i in 60Hz? Would this mess up the screen?
Re: Swiss 0.2
I don't think any standard device can output a refresh rate of 576i @ 60hz which including overscan would make a horizontal frequency of over 18Khz. If it could then I doubt any TV would accept it. At worst the TV would not lock onto the signal at all and at best it would cut off the some of the picture at the bottom... just my 2 pence worth.
-
- Posts: 448
- Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 4:11 pm
- Location: Germany
Re: Swiss 0.2
emu you are doing a realy good job with you application. now I have a short question. will there every be dma support for the ide exi in the future?