Retroarch1.7.6 not work on Gamecube

Discuss emulation on the Gamecube here
Post Reply
64801965
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2018 7:08 am

Retroarch1.7.6 not work on Gamecube

Post by 64801965 » Thu May 02, 2019 8:09 am

I use any core that is provided by retroarch bundle with any game roms, all returns me a black screen and reset the Gamecube, it seems that retroarch couldn't work on my machine, so what's the problem with it? Please help! PS: I use GCHDMI solution to display.
Dirty night, hard China!!
64801965
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2018 7:08 am

Re: Retroarch1.7.6 not work on Gamecube

Post by 64801965 » Thu May 02, 2019 10:01 am

Retroarch 1.0.0.2 can work, thank God!
Dirty night, hard China!!
User avatar
razorleafattack
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2018 8:16 am

Re: Retroarch1.7.6 not work on Gamecube

Post by razorleafattack » Mon May 06, 2019 12:17 am

64801965 wrote:
Thu May 02, 2019 10:01 am
Retroarch 1.0.0.2 can work, thank God!
Which systems can actually be emulated on the GameCube? I’m curious about Atari, Sega Saturn and Dreamcast games mostly.

I realize there are better ways to emulate these systems but I want to see what I can do, not stop to think whether I should.

I’ve heard the GCN version of Retroarch is mostly broken, so hearing that you have it working is a breath of fresh air.
64801965
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2018 7:08 am

Re: Retroarch1.7.6 not work on Gamecube

Post by 64801965 » Mon May 06, 2019 4:47 am

razorleafattack wrote:
Mon May 06, 2019 12:17 am
64801965 wrote:
Thu May 02, 2019 10:01 am
Retroarch 1.0.0.2 can work, thank God!
Which systems can actually be emulated on the GameCube? I’m curious about Atari, Sega Saturn and Dreamcast games mostly.

I realize there are better ways to emulate these systems but I want to see what I can do, not stop to think whether I should.

I’ve heard the GCN version of Retroarch is mostly broken, so hearing that you have it working is a breath of fresh air.
I've checked the retroarch with sega genesis and capcom cps1 core, both work flawlessly.
Dirty night, hard China!!
User avatar
Papy.G
Posts: 432
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 6:14 am
Location: France, Occitanie
Contact:

Re: Retroarch1.7.6 not work on Gamecube

Post by Papy.G » Mon May 06, 2019 8:35 am

I had to try "Mission:Liftoff" for Thomson To8, and did it thanks to Retroarch (Teodore Core), works nice. 8-)

Have still to try Asterix arcade game, and find a way, if possible through Retroarch, to play Oric games, will feedback experience when done.

Can't seem to find which version I use… :roll:
DMG/MF OC, AGB/SC miniSD, NTR/NeoMK3, USG/flashme V8/SC miniSD
DOL001(EUR)/RGB/GCPlug/GBP/SD2SP2, RVL 001(EUR)/RGB/CMP/WiiSD

SD2SP2 in action on video
64801965
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2018 7:08 am

Re: Retroarch1.7.6 not work on Gamecube

Post by 64801965 » Mon May 06, 2019 4:34 pm

Papy.G wrote:
Mon May 06, 2019 8:35 am
I had to try "Mission:Liftoff" for Thomson To8, and did it thanks to Retroarch (Teodore Core), works nice. 8-)

Have still to try Asterix arcade game, and find a way, if possible through Retroarch, to play Oric games, will feedback experience when done.

Can't seem to find which version I use… :roll:


After loading a certain core, its version is displayed on the slightly left bottom of the screen.
Dirty night, hard China!!
User avatar
turnerl
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2010 10:46 am
Location: Australia

Re: Retroarch1.7.6 not work on Gamecube

Post by turnerl » Sat Jan 04, 2020 12:33 am

64801965 wrote:
Thu May 02, 2019 10:01 am
Retroarch 1.0.0.2 can work, thank God!
Would someone happen to have a download link for this version?

thanks in advance.
64801965
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2018 7:08 am

Re: Retroarch1.7.6 not work on Gamecube

Post by 64801965 » Wed Jan 08, 2020 1:25 pm

turnerl wrote:
Sat Jan 04, 2020 12:33 am
64801965 wrote:
Thu May 02, 2019 10:01 am
Retroarch 1.0.0.2 can work, thank God!
Would someone happen to have a download link for this version?

thanks in advance.
https://retro-arch.en.uptodown.com/wind ... load/71571
Dirty night, hard China!!
User avatar
Papy.G
Posts: 432
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 6:14 am
Location: France, Occitanie
Contact:

Re: Retroarch1.7.6 not work on Gamecube

Post by Papy.G » Tue Jan 14, 2020 2:52 pm

I use the 1.7.5, the screen is stretched when it boots, so I couldn't see the version… But I still don't know what core to select to play Asterix and Dynablaster World…

Current version is 1.8.3, I have yet to try it, but will keep the older in a sure place, and if it doesn't work, we'll see if we need to put back online the 1.7.5, since there don't seem to have a mean to get it from the official site.
DMG/MF OC, AGB/SC miniSD, NTR/NeoMK3, USG/flashme V8/SC miniSD
DOL001(EUR)/RGB/GCPlug/GBP/SD2SP2, RVL 001(EUR)/RGB/CMP/WiiSD

SD2SP2 in action on video
User avatar
turnerl
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2010 10:46 am
Location: Australia

Re: Retroarch1.7.6 not work on Gamecube

Post by turnerl » Fri Jan 17, 2020 4:36 am

64801965 wrote:
Wed Jan 08, 2020 1:25 pm
turnerl wrote:
Sat Jan 04, 2020 12:33 am
64801965 wrote:
Thu May 02, 2019 10:01 am
Retroarch 1.0.0.2 can work, thank God!
Would someone happen to have a download link for this version?

thanks in advance.
https://retro-arch.en.uptodown.com/wind ... load/71571
Thank you !
User avatar
Papy.G
Posts: 432
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 6:14 am
Location: France, Occitanie
Contact:

Re: Retroarch1.7.6 not work on Gamecube

Post by Papy.G » Wed Apr 08, 2020 9:03 am

64801965 wrote:
Wed Jan 08, 2020 1:25 pm
Retroarch 1.0.0.2 can work, thank God!
https://retro-arch.en.uptodown.com/wind ... load/71571
Ain't this a windows version? Quite useless.
If you have a working setup, can't you Zip your disk into a folder? (without the roms) and upload it somewhere?

I found a way to access recent Stable builds, so not over the 1.7.5:
https://buildbot.libretro.com/stable/

Somebody made individual cores off FBA, but with older release. Anyway, he explains in a topic linked, how he made that:
https://www.gc-forever.com/forums/viewt ... =32&t=2687

Two weeks now that Uderzo passed, and I still can't play Asterix… :cry:
DMG/MF OC, AGB/SC miniSD, NTR/NeoMK3, USG/flashme V8/SC miniSD
DOL001(EUR)/RGB/GCPlug/GBP/SD2SP2, RVL 001(EUR)/RGB/CMP/WiiSD

SD2SP2 in action on video
User avatar
Papy.G
Posts: 432
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 6:14 am
Location: France, Occitanie
Contact:

Re: Retroarch1.7.6 not work on Gamecube

Post by Papy.G » Thu Apr 23, 2020 4:49 pm

So I'm back after some more testing, with 1.8.5.
Something is broken, but don't blame on Retroarch, some of the emulators are running just fine.
Theodore is working as expected, for example.
Gambatte and VBA kinda work, didn't extensively use them, I prefer emGBA (GC) and Lameboy (DS), and have the original hardware, so…

We have to stop bashing and give Retroarch the attention it (should) deserves (once it will work), if we want to motivate the devs to fix their emulators, it should seem worth it to their eyes.

There are tons of useless things bloating the whole thing, to begin, why does it try to emulate display with shaders, scalers or something, while a core's output is just the same as the GC's, this eludes me. :roll:
DMG/MF OC, AGB/SC miniSD, NTR/NeoMK3, USG/flashme V8/SC miniSD
DOL001(EUR)/RGB/GCPlug/GBP/SD2SP2, RVL 001(EUR)/RGB/CMP/WiiSD

SD2SP2 in action on video
Post Reply