A Noob Needs Help with NGC, ViperGC & SDboot

All your console related questions and answers :)
saotome_ranma

A Noob Needs Help with NGC, ViperGC & SDboot

Post by saotome_ranma » Fri May 21, 2010 3:18 pm

:oops: First of all, I'm from china and I have to admit that:I am a noob with NGC, especially with its modchips and SD load function, even I own a xbox, a PS2, a DC and can use them very well. But I definitely like NGC and its game very very much.

I bought a secondhand NGC (US version) with ViperGC modchip (not Extreme version) a few days ago because one of my friends told me that only this combination can launch programs from SD card without any boot disc. At that time, there was a strange idea coming out of my mind: Maybe there is a possibility to run GC games ISOs in a totally disc-free way.

But after trying in many days, I failed up till now. Fortunately, I still find this forum and know that the developer of great SDboot is here too. So I come here as a fresh noob of NGC & its modchips and ask for some needful help from you experts in your NGC territory.

Is there a possibility to play GC ISOs from SD card through ViperGC (not Extreme version) in a totally disc-free way?

Here are the steps I followed in these days work and failures I met, I hope they may help you guys to find my mistakes:

1. Flash the latest Cobra v2.1 BIOS & SDLoad PlugIn into my ViperGC modchip
2. Copy SDboot v0.4 and game ISOs into SD card and plug SD media launcher into memory slot of NGC (2GB Kingstone SD card and all ISOs are placed in folder "GCgames")
3. Start NGC and go to ViperGC IC manu by pressing button Y
4. Select SDLoad plugin and run
5. Boot SDboot.dol in SDLoad UI
6. SDboot seems run well after selecting speed and slot, all game ISOs can be recognized perfectly
7. Press button A to boot the game i wish to play
8. A black background text comes out saying "DVD is initializing" after selecting video mode