Is it possible to hard code Widescreen code inside an iso?

All your console related questions and answers :)
User avatar
DragonBoy
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2012 11:20 pm
Location: Hellas/Ελλάδα

Re: Is it possible to hard code Widescreen code inside an is

Post by DragonBoy » Sat Nov 22, 2014 7:40 am

Thank you! Would it be possible to have:

Twilight Princess (NTSC)
Super Mario Sunshine (NTSC)
Luigi's Mansion (NTSC)
Ralf@gc-forever
Posts: 2885
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2014 9:31 am

Re: Is it possible to hard code Widescreen code inside an is

Post by Ralf@gc-forever » Sat Nov 22, 2014 11:23 am

The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess (NTSC-U & PAL)

42080000 44610000 3F866667 3F933334
BF400000 3FAAAAAB 3EDC28F6 3D3851EC
3DF5C28F 00000004 43660000 3FADB6DB
481C4000 43700000 3F8E147B 3F666666
3F000000 00000000 43300000 80000000

3FADB6DB -> 3FE79E79

42080000 44610000 3F866667 3F933334
BF400000 3FAAAAAB 3EDC28F6 3D3851EC
3DF5C28F 00000004 43660000 3FE79E79
481C4000 43700000 3F8E147B 3F666666
3F000000 00000000 43300000 80000000


Super Mario Sunshine (NTSC-U & PAL)

61000000 BF800000 2F000000 00000000
43300000 80000000 00000000 BF800000
3F800000 3F69D89C 2E736200 2F000000
70617261 6D730000 8D8790AC 33000000
43300000 00000000 00000000 3F800000

3F69D89C -> 3F9A7643

61000000 BF800000 2F000000 00000000
43300000 80000000 00000000 BF800000
3F800000 3F9A7643 2E736200 2F000000
70617261 6D730000 8D8790AC 33000000
43300000 00000000 00000000 3F800000


Luigi's Mansion (PAL)

800700DC 7CA62850 90A1013C 7C030050
90010134 90810138 90810130 C8210138
C8010130 EC211028 EC001028 EC010024
D00700B0 806D02F0 A0030000 540007FF
4182001C 81830008 280C0000 41820028

EC001028 -> 3C603FE3
EC010024 -> 60638E39
D00700B0 -> 906700B0

800700DC 7CA62850 90A1013C 7C030050
90010134 90810138 90810130 C8210138
C8010130 EC211028 3C603FE3 60638E39
906700B0 806D02F0 A0030000 540007FF
4182001C 81830008 280C0000 41820028

I don't have the US version of Luigi's Mansion, but there's a good chance that the same ASM code is used in the NTSC-U game. The blue marked Hex value could be different in the US version.
User avatar
DragonBoy
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2012 11:20 pm
Location: Hellas/Ελλάδα

Re: Is it possible to hard code Widescreen code inside an is

Post by DragonBoy » Mon Nov 24, 2014 8:12 pm

Thank you very, very much! :D I'll try then tomorrow when I get home and let you know... :D
User avatar
ShadowOne333
Posts: 101
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 9:06 am
Location: Mexico
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to hard code Widescreen code inside an is

Post by ShadowOne333 » Fri Jan 09, 2015 9:26 pm

Sorry to bump this thread.

I found a cheat code that switches the buttons A and B for Megaman Anniversary Collection NTSC-U.
I was wondering if the code could be hardcoded into the ISO.

I don't know which one of the two is the right one, but here they are:

Code: Select all

G6QE08
Megaman Annivesary Collection (US)

0603CCB8 00000008 
5405BFFE 5406C7FE 
And here is the other one:

Code: Select all

00D0C0DE 00D0C0DE 
0603CCB8 00000008 
5405BFFE 5406C7FE 
F0000000 00000000 
Could you help me out as to how to hard-code that one into the game?
Ralf@gc-forever
Posts: 2885
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2014 9:31 am

Re: Is it possible to hard code Widescreen code inside an is

Post by Ralf@gc-forever » Sat Jan 10, 2015 6:49 pm

I don't have the Megaman Annivesary Collection, so I'm afraid I can't be of much help here:

The 2nd code is identical with the first one, but in old Ocarina code format.

00D0C0DE 00D0C0DE - start code list
0603CCB8 00000008
5405BFFE 5406C7FE
F0000000 00000000 - end code list

The code itself is a simple string code which writes 8 bytes to address 0x8003CCB8-0x8003CCBF in memory.

8003CCB8: 5405BFFE
8003CCBC: 5406C7FE

If you are going to hard-code these 8 bytes into the ISO you will need the original byte-values at address 0x8003CCB8/BC (and some more) as a search criteria.
zouzzz
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2018 7:56 am

Re: Is it possible to hard code Widescreen code inside an iso?

Post by zouzzz » Sat Mar 10, 2018 8:06 am

Hello,

Thanks for this topic.
I create a little app for windows in c# for MKDD iso, widescreen hack : Mario Kart 64 16/9 Patcher. US and PAL ISO compatible.

Image

Download : Mario Kart 64 16/9 Patcher
Website link : bidouillouzzz.blogspot

If you prefer the hex edition, the tutoriel is here : MKDD 16/9 widescreen french tut


Widescreen VS Widescreen hack short video : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pdjCCr4KSQk
(youtube integration doesn't work)
Image
- Dev - Hacks - Homebrews - Games - Demos -
User avatar
Aleron Ives
Posts: 90
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 3:56 am
Location: California

Re: Is it possible to hard code Widescreen code inside an iso?

Post by Aleron Ives » Sat Mar 10, 2018 11:58 am

You don't really need to write a program from scratch for this sort of thing; you can create patches with Xdelta, IPS, or CodeFusion that will get the job done easily without needing to write a separate program for each game.
novenary
Posts: 1754
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am

Re: Is it possible to hard code Widescreen code inside an iso?

Post by novenary » Sat Mar 10, 2018 12:08 pm

Something that would be much more interesting is a program that would take arbitrary AR/Gecko codes as input and patch the ISO with them.
zouzzz
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2018 7:56 am

Re: Is it possible to hard code Widescreen code inside an iso?

Post by zouzzz » Sat Mar 10, 2018 1:25 pm

Aleron Ives : interesting, can you make this patches ?
Ar/gecko codes works but you must enter the long codes.
Swiss have the widescreen cheat but you must use Swiss ans isn't LAN compatible. :-)

I write the app by pleasure.


If anyone want to play on MKDD Warpipe, i'm here.
Image
- Dev - Hacks - Homebrews - Games - Demos -
User avatar
Aleron Ives
Posts: 90
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 3:56 am
Location: California

Re: Is it possible to hard code Widescreen code inside an iso?

Post by Aleron Ives » Sun Mar 11, 2018 10:43 am

IMHO the best method for creating permanent file patches is Code Fusion, because unlike Xdelta and IPS, it includes file verification abilities. Most games require separate patches for each regional release, and games with multiple releases per region may need more than one patch, too. The basic strategy for users to apply patches is:
  1. Extract the game's DOL file with GCRebuilder.
  2. Run the patching program for your release of the game, and patch the DOL file.
  3. Import the patched DOL back into the ISO with GCRebuilder.
The benefit of doing it this way is that when you create the patcher for each release of the game, you can specify the size (and CRC) of the DOL file for that region, so each patcher is "keyed" to only one release. This way, inexperienced users cannot accidentally apply a patch for the wrong region/release and break their ISO. The downside is that the person creating the patching programs must have all releases of the game in order to key each patcher to a specific release.

Xdelta and IPS will get the job done, and you could even create patches that will work on the ISO itself, so that GCRebuilder isn't needed, but this method provides no verification that you're even patching the correct game, let alone the correct release, so users may end up with a corrupt ISO if they don't know what they're doing. Xdelta and IPS have cross-platform options, though, which some people may consider important.
elenarguez
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2018 10:30 am

Re: Is it possible to hard code Widescreen code inside an iso?

Post by elenarguez » Mon Oct 01, 2018 11:03 am

Someone could help me on how to modify the codes? I try to change ones I have with those of Ralf but do not understand as much as manage the Hexa editor, a small tuto or something pls:(
I wanted to modify the Wiird codes of mode 60hz for Beyond good & Evil and the Prince of Persia two thrones and Warrior within, all from region PAL.
JimmySummer
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 8:59 am

Re: Is it possible to hard code Widescreen code inside an iso?

Post by JimmySummer » Sat Nov 24, 2018 10:08 pm

Hello everybody,
And is it possible to force 480p inside a PAL ISO file with this cheat code technic?

Thanks
User avatar
Aleron Ives
Posts: 90
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 3:56 am
Location: California

Re: Is it possible to hard code Widescreen code inside an iso?

Post by Aleron Ives » Sun Nov 25, 2018 12:11 am

If a patch exists to add 480p to a PAL game, it's probably possible to make an ISO patch out of it.
Omega-Battle
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2020 8:35 pm

Re: Is it possible to hard code Widescreen code inside an iso?

Post by Omega-Battle » Sun Jan 05, 2020 8:46 pm

hey, Ralf, I want to make Skies of Arcadia Legends
have a 16:9 Aspect Ratio.
User avatar
Papy.G
Posts: 916
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 6:14 am
Location: France, Occitanie
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to hard code Widescreen code inside an iso?

Post by Papy.G » Mon Jan 06, 2020 12:47 pm

In many games such as WW, objects are disappearing before they reach the FOV border when setting the 16/9 patch in SWISS, are there hardcoded mods that avoids those problems? :mrgreen: (Don't beat me if it has been corrected in SWISS's latest releases, i'm one month late on this. :oops: )
DMG/MultiFreq OC/EDGB/EZF Jr, AGB/SC miniSD, NTR/NeoMK3, USG/flashme V8/SC miniSD
DOL001(EUR)/RGB/GCPlug/GBP/SD2SP2, RVL 001(EUR)/RGB/CMP/WiiSD

Zelda WW with Tingle Tuner in split screen was what the GC RF modulator was made for! (Video)
Crashj110
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 1:42 am

Re: Is it possible to hard code Widescreen code inside an iso?

Post by Crashj110 » Sun Oct 04, 2020 11:28 pm

Streetwalker wrote:
Sat Mar 10, 2018 12:08 pm
Something that would be much more interesting is a program that would take arbitrary AR/Gecko codes as input and patch the ISO with them.
Does anyone know if something like this ever ended up getting made? If so, what is it called so I can try to find it?
User avatar
kinopiofan69
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2023 12:41 am

Re: Is it possible to hard code Widescreen code inside an iso?

Post by kinopiofan69 » Mon Jan 23, 2023 1:27 pm

Here's an easier way of doing it:
1. Open your iso using GCRebuilder
2. Extract the root folder of the iso
3. Create your GCT file using something like Code Manager, Brawlbox, etc.
4. Use Gecko-Loader to patch it by first clicking on "Open DOL", then your GCT or TXT file (Open Codes), and Destination (the same path as the Start.dol). I recommend using Code Hook as "GX" and Include Codes as "ALL. Then click run.
5. Open up GCRebuilder, and open the root folder and then click save as, then click "Rebuild". Done.
Post Reply