Game Boy Interface

Release threads for homebrew & utilities only
Post Reply
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 774
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Mon Aug 03, 2015 5:01 pm

blizzz wrote:Would it be possible to use a GBA as a controller like with the original GBP disc? I think this actually transfers a program to the GBA. So I'm not sure if this is something that can be done with Homebrew, but it would be really nice.
This was planned since the beginning, but may take a while to materialize.
jayare
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2015 3:00 pm

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by jayare » Tue Aug 04, 2015 3:11 pm

Extrems, a big THANK YOU!!!!!!
You have no idea how much the GameBoy Player has troubled me for 12 years with that crap interlaced, blurred, and stuttering mess. I downloaded the latest version yesterday for my first try, and everything is perfect. I have 240p on my standard def. TV through S-video. No sound glitches, no stuttering, no blurriness, just pure perfection!! I also like theres nothing but black borders. Though to be honest, it would be sweet to add custom borders!! Would contribute my own art for this.

I heard there was supposed to be lag, i think?
Theres no noticeable input lag here.
THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!!!!
Diminuendo
Posts: 300
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 12:32 am

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Diminuendo » Sat Aug 08, 2015 9:08 pm

Image

any glaring stupidity in my arguments?
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1736
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Streetwalker » Sat Aug 08, 2015 9:18 pm

--(no)osd should probably be --noosd.
Diminuendo
Posts: 300
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 12:32 am

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Diminuendo » Sat Aug 08, 2015 9:23 pm

Thanks
suloku
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:55 pm

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by suloku » Sun Aug 09, 2015 12:02 am

Wow, this is amazing, I can't believe I'm only finding about this now. Great job, I was hesitant about getting a gameboy player because they have become pricey when including the disc, but using the disc being able to use our app would be rather silly!

Thank you very much!
FIX94
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 1:55 pm

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by FIX94 » Sun Aug 09, 2015 12:57 pm

Diminuendo wrote:Thanks
oh also fyi NUM_ARGS should be 7 for it to be proper.
sindrik
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2014 8:13 am

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by sindrik » Sun Aug 09, 2015 7:39 pm

Extrems wrote:
  • Added low latency (buffered) version with 243p59.8261 video mode.
  • Added ultra-low latency (unbuffered) version with experimental 243p59.7276 video mode.
  • Changed all 60 Hz modes to have 486 active lines.
Thanks for the newest release, Extrems!
darcagn wrote:Just in case anyone wants an ISO to use with XenoGC, etc.

http://dcemulation.org/~darc/files/gbi-20150508.iso
Any chance you can update your ISOS to the latest relase? =)
Diminuendo
Posts: 300
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 12:32 am

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Diminuendo » Mon Aug 10, 2015 12:02 am

FIX94 wrote:
Diminuendo wrote:Thanks
oh also fyi NUM_ARGS should be 7 for it to be proper.
I do not know what this means
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1736
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Streetwalker » Mon Aug 10, 2015 7:58 am

NUM_ARGS just above the GBIArgs array should be the number of elements in that array.
suloku
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:55 pm

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by suloku » Mon Aug 10, 2015 11:38 am

Can someone test this dol? <link removed, it was broken>
I grabbed the gbiargs by FIX94 and made it so it can load either gbi, gbi-ll or gbi-ull. Arguments are these ones : "--offset=0:2", "--zoom=3.25", "--format=pal60", "--nointerlaced"

I plan more for this, but first I need to know if it works, I don't have the gb player (yet) and my gamecube is not connected right now (I normally use my wii).

UPDATE: my previous uploaded dol was broken, I thought it was dolphin not being able to run gbi, but it was just my silly mistake.

Here's an improved supposedly working version (can't test without gbplayer, but should work)

Features:
- Can boot either GBI, GBI-ll or GBI-ull
- Configuration file at sdgeckoA:/config.txt

check update 3! https://www.dropbox.com/s/fkzddp5i5sj4r ... A.rar?dl=0
Let me know if it works, if it does I'll try adding auto detection of slotA/B for config file and configuring on the fly before booting (I might start working on this right now)

ps: I'll upload the source when I know it works, it is originally FIX94's code after all

UPDATE 2: I made the version that can also change arguments no the fly. Controls might be a little cryptic though.

Tomorrow I'll test detecting sdgecko in slot A or B before attempting to load the config file. Then I guess all work would be done, I hope this works fine.

check update 3! https://www.dropbox.com/s/kt5ewwjuh2cf8 ... 2.rar?dl=0
UPDATE 3: This version should try to load conf_gbi.txt from slot A, if there's no SDgecko in slot A it should try from slot B.
Keep in mind that if there's an SD gecko in slot A, but no conf_gbi.txt file i won't try to load from slot B.
Also notice I changed the config file name, since it seemed too generic.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/m51qa4lgf7i02 ... 3.rar?dl=0

UPDATE 4: I've written a simple tool to inject a conf_gbi.txt file to gbiargs.dol, and it will load it as default. Only windows binary, but source is included for any linux/mac user.

Code: Select all

Usage:
1.- Put GBI_configurator.exe at same folder as gbiargs.dol and conf_gbi.txt
2.- Run GBI_configurator.exe
3.- gbiargs_conf.dol will be created, holding the specified configuration in conf_gbi.txt as default
https://www.dropbox.com/s/cdjo28zdbd2gn ... r.rar?dl=0

Everything I wanted to code is done, now I just hope it works with no issues.