Yo, Ralf, you do some fine codes!
I'm one of the competitive players for Naruto Gekitou Ninja Taisen 4 (yes, people still play that game), and I want to thank you so much for that debug pause code. I was trying to find that game's debug options for months, but I really lacked the experience to figure it all out. Until I found your codes, the only codes we were aware of were for collision display, camera control, and cpu usage.
I was also impressed that you found what looks to be all of the Bloody Roar Primal Fury debug menus in the PAL version. The JP version of Bloody Roar 3, as I think you might be aware, had a very easily accessible debug menu in the retail game just by hitting L2+Circle hovering over options.
When I was messing around with it, I remembered that 8ing also developed the Naruto GNT series, so I took a look at the RAM and sure enough, there were strings in there that were in BR3. I spent way too long looking through stuff for all the 8ing developed GC/PS2 fighting games, and eventually gave up. Little did I know your codes would come along shortly after I gave up.
Since the debug menus for the 8ing fighters of that generation are so similar, I figure once you accessed one, accessing the others wasn't too hard. In case you weren't aware, 8ing made a Zatch Bell fighter on GC/PS2, and I know for certain that it will have similar debug menus. I also know they made a Kenichi fighter and Fate Unlimited Codes on PS2, but those aren't Nintendo games so whatever~
Since most of the text from all the other Bloody Roar Primal Fury debug menus are in the Naruto games, do you know if all those menus are in Gekitou Ninja Taisen, or just the fight debug menu? If you express no interest whatsoever in making codes for that, I'd at least like to know what process you went through to uncover these debug modes so I can try doing it myself again. And although this site is for Gamecube stuff, I'm wondering if you've poked around in any of the 8ing fighters on Wii. I tried finding stuff myself in Castlevania Judgement, the Kamen Rider games, the Naruto games, and Tatsunoko vs Capcom, but, you guessed it, I came up empty handed (in terms of accessing it, anyway). I'm not super in need of info for those games atm, but just seeing if you already knew.
So... yeah. Thanks so much for that freakin awesome GNT4 fight debug code. Thanks to that, competitive players have finally been able to compile accurate data on HP, Guard, damage, timing and properties of attacks, etc. It's really been invaluable.
Thanks, Ralf!
Moderator: Ralf@gc-forever
-
- Posts: 3824
- Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2014 9:31 am
Re: Thanks, Ralf!
Thanks Abbock, I'm always glad when people appreciate my codes. I remember that this Naruto fight debug menuAbbock wrote:Yo, Ralf, you do some fine codes!
I'm one of the competitive players for Naruto Gekitou Ninja Taisen 4 (yes, people still play that game), and I want to thank you so much for that debug pause code. I was trying to find that game's debug options for months, but I really lacked the experience to figure it all out. Until I found your codes, the only codes we were aware of were for collision display, camera control, and cpu usage.
gave me a lot of headache. It's always enabled during gameplay by default, but seemingly there is no way to
access it. To make a long story short, after so many unsuccessful attempts to make it work, I finally got an
idea to disable the pause menu and this was the trick to access the fight debug menu.
Most 8ing games make use of a debug level variable to trigger debug stuff. This variable is set to 0Abbock wrote:I was also impressed that you found what looks to be all of the Bloody Roar Primal Fury debug menus in the PAL version. The JP version of Bloody Roar 3, as I think you might be aware, had a very easily accessible debug menu in the retail game just by hitting L2+Circle hovering over options.
When I was messing around with it, I remembered that 8ing also developed the Naruto GNT series, so I took a look at the RAM and sure enough, there were strings in there that were in BR3. I spent way too long looking through stuff for all the 8ing developed GC/PS2 fighting games, and eventually gave up. Little did I know your codes would come along shortly after I gave up.
Since the debug menus for the 8ing fighters of that generation are so similar, I figure once you accessed one, accessing the others wasn't too hard. In case you weren't aware, 8ing made a Zatch Bell fighter on GC/PS2, and I know for certain that it will have similar debug menus. I also know they made a Kenichi fighter and Fate Unlimited Codes on PS2, but those aren't Nintendo games so whatever
(no debug stuff) by default. A special debug level function is executed during the boot process of the
game, which checks the game serial number against an encrypted debug save game serial number.
Bloody Roar Primal Fury debug level function (PAL)
Code: Select all
80022434: 7C0802A6 mflr r0
80022438: 3C80801B lis r4,-32741
8002243C: 90010004 stw r0,4(r1)
80022440: 38A00954 li r5,2388
80022444: 9421FFD8 stwu r1,-40(r1)
80022448: 93E10024 stw r31,36(r1)
8002244C: 3BE4AE68 subi r31,r4,20888 ; Address (0x801AAE68) of encrypted debug save game serial no
...
800224B4: 38000002 li r0,2
800224B8: 7C0903A6 mtctr r0
800224BC: 7FE5FB78 mr r5,r31
800224C0: 808D8600 lwz r4,-31232(r13) ; Pointer (0x8017D9C8) to game serial no: BRC20011212V000J
800224C4: 88040000 lbz r0,0(r4)
800224C8: 88650000 lbz r3,0(r5)
800224CC: 7C000774 extsb r0,r0
800224D0: 680000FF xori r0,r0,255
800224D4: 5400063E rlwinm r0,r0,0,24,31
800224D8: 7C030000 cmpw r3,r0
800224DC: 408200F4 bne- 0x800225d0
...
800225A0: 8C040001 lbzu r0,1(r4)
800225A4: 3B9C0001 addi r28,r28,1
800225A8: 8C650001 lbzu r3,1(r5)
800225AC: 7C000774 extsb r0,r0
800225B0: 680000FF xori r0,r0,255
800225B4: 5400063E rlwinm r0,r0,0,24,31
800225B8: 7C030000 cmpw r3,r0
800225BC: 40820014 bne- 0x800225d0
800225C0: 38840001 addi r4,r4,1
800225C4: 38A50001 addi r5,r5,1
800225C8: 3B9C0001 addi r28,r28,1
800225CC: 4200FEF8 bdnz+ 0x800224c4
800225D0: 2C1C0010 cmpwi r28,16 ; game serial no equal debug save game serial no ?
800225D4: 40820010 bne- 0x800225e4
800225D8: 3C60801B lis r3,-32741
800225DC: 38000001 li r0,1 ; set debug level to 1
800225E0: B003A950 sth r0,-22192(r3) ; Address (0x801AA950) of debug level variable (half word)
Unfortunately, all Bloody Roar Primal Fury debug menus with the exception of the fight debug menu were removedAbbock wrote:Since most of the text from all the other Bloody Roar Primal Fury debug menus are in the Naruto games, do you know if all those menus are in Gekitou Ninja Taisen, or just the fight debug menu? If you express no interest whatsoever in making codes for that, I'd at least like to know what process you went through to uncover these debug modes so I can try doing it myself again. And although this site is for Gamecube stuff, I'm wondering if you've poked around in any of the 8ing fighters on Wii. I tried finding stuff myself in Castlevania Judgement, the Kamen Rider games, the Naruto games, and Tatsunoko vs Capcom, but, you guessed it, I came up empty handed (in terms of accessing it, anyway). I'm not super in need of info for those games atm, but just seeing if you already knew.
from the retail GameCube Naruto games (only the text strings of the menus are still in the game files). The BRPF
debug level function still exists too in the Naruto games, but is never be executed during the boot process.
BTW, one question: Is my 'Enable DPad During Fights' code useful for competitive players? I've read that theAbbock wrote:So... yeah. Thanks so much for that freakin awesome GNT4 fight debug code. Thanks to that, competitive players have finally been able to compile accurate data on HP, Guard, damage, timing and properties of attacks, etc. It's really been invaluable.
main drawback of Naruto GNT4 is the missing functionality of the DPad.
Re: Thanks, Ralf!
There hasn't been a GNT4 tournament for a little over a year, but there will hopefully be one soon, and we'll definitely have that d-pad code on!
Since you're saying the fight debug is on by default, all you had to do was disable the pause menu? Is disabling the pause menu literally all that code is doing? (aside from adding in the debug camera too)
Since you're saying the fight debug is on by default, all you had to do was disable the pause menu? Is disabling the pause menu literally all that code is doing? (aside from adding in the debug camera too)
Re: Thanks, Ralf!
just realized, too, that the "PIVOT" function in the fight debug menus don't do what they're supposed to. In the BR3 debug menu, it showed the skeleton for the character.
is that a result of accessing it with the code? is the code flawed in some way?
is that a result of accessing it with the code? is the code flawed in some way?
-
- Posts: 3824
- Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2014 9:31 am
Re: Thanks, Ralf!
Yep that's right, the 2nd line of the fight debug menu code disables the pause menu and the 1st line sets the debug level to 2 (enables debug camera functionality).Abbock wrote:Since you're saying the fight debug is on by default, all you had to do was disable the pause menu? Is disabling the pause menu literally all that code is doing? (aside from adding in the debug camera too)
Enable Fight Debug Menu
022233A8 00000002
04222FB8 8004CB64
No, it seems that this function is not implemented in Naruto GNT4.Abbock wrote:just realized, too, that the "PIVOT" function in the fight debug menus don't do what they're supposed to. In the BR3 debug menu, it showed the skeleton for the character.
is that a result of accessing it with the code? is the code flawed in some way?
Re: Thanks, Ralf!
Got the chance to play with experienced players with the D-Pad turned on, it was great.
The only other code I can think of that people would want at this point now is to allow for picking the same character multiple times in the 4-player mode. I guess I'll try my hand at that.
The only other code I can think of that people would want at this point now is to allow for picking the same character multiple times in the 4-player mode. I guess I'll try my hand at that.
-
- Posts: 305
- Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 12:32 am
Re: Thanks, Ralf!
sorry to hijack, but are people using thesecodes using swiss? I have had not luck getting a single code to work using it.