Page 1 of 1

Doom for the Gamecube

Posted: Wed Nov 13, 2013 3:50 am
by MarioMania
Was this even planned as a Homebrew?

Heck even Doom 2 and Final Doom

Re: Doom for the Gamecube

Posted: Fri Nov 15, 2013 5:11 am
by Nukatha
Someone did a port of the shareware version of Doom a while back. Its pretty easy to find, its a small .dol that you can boot very easily.

Re: Doom for the Gamecube

Posted: Fri Mar 28, 2014 12:02 pm
by ShadowOne333
MarioMania wrote:Was this even planned as a Homebrew?

Heck even Doom 2 and Final Doom
Try using RetroArch Wii and download the prboom.wad along with the corresponding wads for Final Doom, Doom 2, TNT and Plutonia Experiment.
I have tested them all and they all work.

Although, you might have to get some custom settings for the audio files, since you need to create something like a .cue file to run the mp3s with prboom.

Re: Doom for the Gamecube

Posted: Mon Jun 02, 2014 11:08 pm
by julius
ShadowOne333 wrote:
Try using RetroArch Wii and download the prboom.wad along with the corresponding wads for Final Doom, Doom 2, TNT and Plutonia Experiment.
I have tested them all and they all work.

Although, you might have to get some custom settings for the audio files, since you need to create something like a .cue file to run the mp3s with prboom.
Sounds a little complicated, maybe that is why I cannot make it to work on my cube. Anyway, I will keep using the nds port of prboom until I find an easier way to play it in my gc.

Re: Doom for the Gamecube

Posted: Sun Jun 15, 2014 9:12 pm
by alzen
Retroarch has port of PrBoom engine but I wonder if anyone had succeded loading any .wad with it?

Anyone?

Re: Doom for the Gamecube

Posted: Tue Jun 17, 2014 6:06 am
by ShadowOne333
alzen wrote:Retroarch has port of PrBoom engine but I wonder if anyone had succeded loading any .wad with it?

Anyone?
Emmmm, me?
I got all the Doom packages working with sound and such.
I can play Final Doom, Doom 2 TNT and Plutonia, completed both Doom 1 & 2, keeping an eye for the other two left :)

Re: Doom for the Gamecube

Posted: Tue Jun 17, 2014 4:32 pm
by julius
ShadowOne333 wrote:
alzen wrote:Retroarch has port of PrBoom engine but I wonder if anyone had succeded loading any .wad with it?

Anyone?
Emmmm, me?
I got all the Doom packages working with sound and such.
I can play Final Doom, Doom 2 TNT and Plutonia, completed both Doom 1 & 2, keeping an eye for the other two left :)
Really? Wich build are you using, GC or Wii? I cannot make that thing to work, and I can play all cps1 and 5 cps2 games, wich was impossible in the first versions of this emulator.

Re: Doom for the Gamecube

Posted: Tue Jun 17, 2014 9:29 pm
by alzen
Same here, I've tried plutonia but it ended with an error message(too little RAM probably).

Please provide some more information.

Re: Doom for the Gamecube

Posted: Mon Jul 14, 2014 4:56 pm
by _ich_
I `ve got the same problem, i use Retroarch 1.0.0.2 with a Viper Extreme modded Gamecube.
Every .wad File i try to start freez my Cube or I got an Error Message.
Maybe wrong Settings?

Re: Doom for the Gamecube

Posted: Mon Jul 14, 2014 10:28 pm
by alzen
alzen wrote:... (too little RAM probably).
Hm?

Re: Doom for the Gamecube

Posted: Mon Jul 14, 2014 11:27 pm
by megalomaniac
bad info...nevermind

Re: Doom for the Gamecube

Posted: Wed Apr 24, 2019 8:42 pm
by y0da89
I am looking forward to play DOOM and DOOM II on my Gamecube one day.
I have the old CubeDoom but this is not the full game.

How to get prboom working on the gamecube ?
It is available in the retroarch core.
The console just freezes when I launch the wad file.

Same result for Tyrquake.

EDIT : I put prboom.wad next to the doom wad as suggested in this reddit thread.
https://www.reddit.com/r/vitahacks/comm ... retroarch/

That just restarts my gamecube :(