Doom for the Gamecube

All your console related questions and answers :)
Post Reply
User avatar
MarioMania
Posts: 130
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 6:40 am

Doom for the Gamecube

Post by MarioMania » Wed Nov 13, 2013 3:50 am

Was this even planned as a Homebrew?

Heck even Doom 2 and Final Doom
Nukatha
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 2:22 am

Re: Doom for the Gamecube

Post by Nukatha » Fri Nov 15, 2013 5:11 am

Someone did a port of the shareware version of Doom a while back. Its pretty easy to find, its a small .dol that you can boot very easily.
User avatar
ShadowOne333
Posts: 101
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 9:06 am
Location: Mexico
Contact:

Re: Doom for the Gamecube

Post by ShadowOne333 » Fri Mar 28, 2014 12:02 pm

MarioMania wrote:Was this even planned as a Homebrew?

Heck even Doom 2 and Final Doom
Try using RetroArch Wii and download the prboom.wad along with the corresponding wads for Final Doom, Doom 2, TNT and Plutonia Experiment.
I have tested them all and they all work.

Although, you might have to get some custom settings for the audio files, since you need to create something like a .cue file to run the mp3s with prboom.
julius
Posts: 201
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 5:11 pm

Re: Doom for the Gamecube

Post by julius » Mon Jun 02, 2014 11:08 pm

ShadowOne333 wrote:
Try using RetroArch Wii and download the prboom.wad along with the corresponding wads for Final Doom, Doom 2, TNT and Plutonia Experiment.
I have tested them all and they all work.

Although, you might have to get some custom settings for the audio files, since you need to create something like a .cue file to run the mp3s with prboom.
Sounds a little complicated, maybe that is why I cannot make it to work on my cube. Anyway, I will keep using the nds port of prboom until I find an easier way to play it in my gc.
User avatar
alzen
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 5:45 am
Location: Poland / UK(W.Yorkshire)

Re: Doom for the Gamecube

Post by alzen » Sun Jun 15, 2014 9:12 pm

Retroarch has port of PrBoom engine but I wonder if anyone had succeded loading any .wad with it?

Anyone?
Image Image Image
User avatar
ShadowOne333
Posts: 101
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 9:06 am
Location: Mexico
Contact:

Re: Doom for the Gamecube

Post by ShadowOne333 » Tue Jun 17, 2014 6:06 am

alzen wrote:Retroarch has port of PrBoom engine but I wonder if anyone had succeded loading any .wad with it?

Anyone?
Emmmm, me?
I got all the Doom packages working with sound and such.
I can play Final Doom, Doom 2 TNT and Plutonia, completed both Doom 1 & 2, keeping an eye for the other two left :)
julius
Posts: 201
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 5:11 pm

Re: Doom for the Gamecube

Post by julius » Tue Jun 17, 2014 4:32 pm

ShadowOne333 wrote:
alzen wrote:Retroarch has port of PrBoom engine but I wonder if anyone had succeded loading any .wad with it?

Anyone?
Emmmm, me?
I got all the Doom packages working with sound and such.
I can play Final Doom, Doom 2 TNT and Plutonia, completed both Doom 1 & 2, keeping an eye for the other two left :)
Really? Wich build are you using, GC or Wii? I cannot make that thing to work, and I can play all cps1 and 5 cps2 games, wich was impossible in the first versions of this emulator.
User avatar
alzen
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 5:45 am
Location: Poland / UK(W.Yorkshire)

Re: Doom for the Gamecube

Post by alzen » Tue Jun 17, 2014 9:29 pm

Same here, I've tried plutonia but it ended with an error message(too little RAM probably).

Please provide some more information.
Image Image Image
_ich_
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 3:28 pm

Re: Doom for the Gamecube

Post by _ich_ » Mon Jul 14, 2014 4:56 pm

I `ve got the same problem, i use Retroarch 1.0.0.2 with a Viper Extreme modded Gamecube.
Every .wad File i try to start freez my Cube or I got an Error Message.
Maybe wrong Settings?
User avatar
alzen
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 5:45 am
Location: Poland / UK(W.Yorkshire)

Re: Doom for the Gamecube

Post by alzen » Mon Jul 14, 2014 10:28 pm

alzen wrote:... (too little RAM probably).
Hm?
Image Image Image
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: Doom for the Gamecube

Post by megalomaniac » Mon Jul 14, 2014 11:27 pm

bad info...nevermind
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
y0da89
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 3:59 pm

Re: Doom for the Gamecube

Post by y0da89 » Wed Apr 24, 2019 8:42 pm

I am looking forward to play DOOM and DOOM II on my Gamecube one day.
I have the old CubeDoom but this is not the full game.

How to get prboom working on the gamecube ?
It is available in the retroarch core.
The console just freezes when I launch the wad file.

Same result for Tyrquake.

EDIT : I put prboom.wad next to the doom wad as suggested in this reddit thread.
https://www.reddit.com/r/vitahacks/comm ... retroarch/

That just restarts my gamecube :(
Post Reply