SD MEDIA LAUNCHER won't start

All your homebrew software needs & discussion
Post Reply
foo25
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2016 9:46 pm

SD MEDIA LAUNCHER won't start

Post by foo25 » Fri Jan 29, 2016 9:59 pm

Hey,
I read a lot but didn't find a solution. I just bought the SD MEDIA LAUNCHER from CODEJUNKIES and get the AR Version. I use a 2GB SD CARD (no SDHC) formated in FAT32 (also tried FAT16) and put the CGoS 1.5 with Swiss Folder on it (seen here http://youtu.be/gb04lK1WATc )
but when I start the cube only the AR starts, I can't chose anything of the SD CARD.
User avatar
AC_Orange
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 11:36 am

Re: SD MEDIA LAUNCHER won't start

Post by AC_Orange » Fri Jan 29, 2016 10:16 pm

I haven't got an SD Media Launcher but I overheard the guy in the video say make sure the card is in FAT format, which means not FAT32 or not FAT16

It's also been a while but in windows you can format as FAT in dos prompt when you use /fs:fat switch or download something with a GUI, like the hp usb disk storage format
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4375
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: SD MEDIA LAUNCHER won't start

Post by emu_kidid » Sat Jan 30, 2016 12:42 am

The disc isn't able to read your SD card due to the crappy SD adapter that is bundled with SDML, have a look on the forums here for why that might be (people recommend using a piece of tape to fix issues).
Image
User avatar
yesimnathan
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2016 9:25 pm

Re: SD MEDIA LAUNCHER won't start

Post by yesimnathan » Sat Aug 06, 2016 9:29 pm

I'm having this exact issue. I've tried 3 different SD (not SDHC) cards formatting them FAT16 and FAT32, tried the tape fix, verified continuity on the SD adapter. I'm not really sure what else to try. My Action Replay was bought from Amazon last week. The paperwork says it's V1.2. It doesn't have the ability to add new codes so I couldn't try the SDLoader route. Any help/advice would be very appreciated! :D
User avatar
yesimnathan
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2016 9:25 pm

Re: SD MEDIA LAUNCHER won't start

Post by yesimnathan » Sun Aug 07, 2016 7:29 pm

I figured out my issue. I am using a TOPRAM 4GB SD card & for some reason, the Action Replay doesn't like for it to have a single partition that takes up the entire card. I created a single 1GB partition, put a FAT32 filesystem on it, and put swiss.dol in there. Worked like a charm! I'll experiment some more with larger partitions (2-3GB) later. For now, this resolved my issue.
Post Reply