Game Boy Interface

Release threads for homebrew & utilities only
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 998
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Sat Aug 15, 2020 1:20 am

thunderzap7 wrote:
Sat Aug 15, 2020 1:04 am
3:2 displays correctly on my monitor, yeah. Anyway, with some light testing that gamma adjustment seems to have fixed the issue. I did have to add --brightness=.15, otherwise it was far too dark. Thank you very much!
Far too dark? It should be brighter than default.

The default 2.2 gamma would lose the darkest shades with no dithering.
CarnalDevices
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2019 1:16 pm

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by CarnalDevices » Tue Aug 25, 2020 4:33 pm

Greetings - my current configuration is GB w/ GBP using AR w/ SD Card and outputting through a 2.4c Carby (Using the latest versions of Swiss and GBI as of 2 days ago)

I would like to boot directly to the GBI without using Swiss.

If I boot to Swiss by renaming it to autoexec.dol - I can load GBI, GBIHF and GBISR without any problems.

If i rename gbi.dol to autoexec.dol -> No Signal

If I rename gbihf.dol to autoexec.dol -> No Signal

If I rename gbisr.dol to autoexec.dol -> Boots Fine

I would rather use gbi.dol over gbisr.dol, but I can't get it to boot without using Swiss.

Thanks in advance if anyone has some suggestions.
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 998
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Tue Aug 25, 2020 4:42 pm

Enable progressive scan mode in a GameCube game.
CarnalDevices
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2019 1:16 pm

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by CarnalDevices » Tue Aug 25, 2020 4:46 pm

Extrems wrote:
Tue Aug 25, 2020 4:42 pm
Enable progressive scan mode in a GameCube game.
Can I do this with the AR disc in (hold B while booting) or do I actually have to use a Gamecube Game (I'm not sure that I even own one, I literally got a Gamecube for the Gameboy Player)
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 998
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Tue Aug 25, 2020 4:51 pm

You can go into Swiss and set Swiss Video Mode to 480p. That'll set the flag in SRAM.
CarnalDevices
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2019 1:16 pm

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by CarnalDevices » Tue Aug 25, 2020 4:54 pm

Extrems wrote:
Tue Aug 25, 2020 4:51 pm
You can go into Swiss and set Swiss Video Mode to 480p. That'll set the flag in SRAM.
I'll give it try - Thank you for the reply.
CarnalDevices
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2019 1:16 pm

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by CarnalDevices » Tue Aug 25, 2020 11:05 pm

Now that I'm booting straight into gbi.dol - I'd like to use the cli file with it. I assume that I'll need to create a dol + cli file?
User avatar
Papy.G
Posts: 510
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 6:14 am
Location: France, Occitanie
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Papy.G » Wed Aug 26, 2020 7:23 am

Yes, you have to append (concatenate) the .cli file to the .dol, and be sure whatever launches GBI supports it.
DMG/MF OC, AGB/SC miniSD, NTR/NeoMK3, USG/flashme V8/SC miniSD
DOL001(EUR)/RGB/GCPlug/GBP/SD2SP2, RVL 001(EUR)/RGB/CMP/WiiSD

Zelda WW with Tingle Tuner in split screen was what the GC RF modulator was made for! (Video)
CarnalDevices
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2019 1:16 pm

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by CarnalDevices » Wed Aug 26, 2020 12:45 pm

Papy.G wrote:
Wed Aug 26, 2020 7:23 am
Yes, you have to append (concatenate) the .cli file to the .dol, and be sure whatever launches GBI supports it.
I'm using the Action Replay disk and booting autotexec.dol (gbi.dol), and this works great.

I grabbed a dol + cli file out of the presets folder, edited the command lines, and renamed that to autoexec.dol, but when it boots I get an image with a lot of screen flicker / diagonal rolling.
Post Reply