WKF Autoboot discovered

User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4573
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by emu_kidid » Fri Apr 26, 2013 5:09 am

sounds like a plan. maybe at the end of the year I'll commission you for a new portable cube with all the advancements we've found this year :)
Image
LOCtronicz
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 12:58 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by LOCtronicz » Fri Apr 26, 2013 6:27 am

Awesome work guys!!! Indeed a pity we can't build our own but yeah buying them in bulk will make them allot cheaper :D

Mega just a quick question. Turning the wiikey off what effect does that have on sd card gameplay? Does it turn of the audio streaming mute?? Does it even do anything as swiss takes over nearly everything anyway....
Interested in more of my projects?? Check my facebook page:

http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100001843721188

Or email me at loctronics@gmail.com with your request.
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by megalomaniac » Fri Apr 26, 2013 6:38 am

LOCtronics wrote:Mega just a quick question. Turning the wiikey off what effect does that have on sd card gameplay? Does it turn of the audio streaming mute?? Does it even do anything as swiss takes over nearly everything anyway....
here: viewtopic.php?p=17572#p17572
i know for certain even with swiss as initial iso the configuration settings will affect the DVD side during direct boot, did not test DVD thru swiss...

a lot of testing will need to be done so we can put all this now data together
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
LOCtronicz
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 12:58 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by LOCtronicz » Fri Apr 26, 2013 7:17 am

Your link sends me back a page...But that's then the only thing then. It's just for getting dvd playback to work correctly. Aside from that loading all the gamecube iso's works like it normally works right?

I plan to use this for portable use anyway so it doesn't really matter really. I just wanted to know for sure that if anybody asks me about it I tell them the correct information.
Interested in more of my projects?? Check my facebook page:

http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100001843721188

Or email me at loctronics@gmail.com with your request.
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by megalomaniac » Fri Apr 26, 2013 7:32 am

megalomaniac wrote:Turning WKF OFF:
disables patching of DVD titles to allow proper audiostreaming playback (with megawire mod)
disables patching of SD titles which will crash audiostreaming playback
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
LOCtronicz
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 12:58 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by LOCtronicz » Fri Apr 26, 2013 7:54 am

megalomaniac wrote:
megalomaniac wrote: disables patching of SD titles which will crash audiostreaming playback
Does that mean what I think it means? All the games started from sd that have audio streaming will crash? or am I reading it wrong..... Just woke up :P
Interested in more of my projects?? Check my facebook page:

http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100001843721188

Or email me at loctronics@gmail.com with your request.
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by megalomaniac » Fri Apr 26, 2013 8:39 am

LOCtronics wrote:
megalomaniac wrote:
megalomaniac wrote: disables patching of SD titles which will crash audiostreaming playback
Does that mean what I think it means? All the games started from sd that have audio streaming will crash? or am I reading it wrong..... Just woke up :P

if you have a DVD drive:
turn the WKF OFF and play audio streaming titles from DVD ( with megawire mod )

if you do not have a DVD drive:
turn the WKF ON and play audio streaming titles from SD ( muted audio and no crash )
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4573
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by emu_kidid » Fri Apr 26, 2013 8:45 am

I can probably fix the issue where audio streaming games crash when its off and you want to play from SD
Image
LOCtronicz
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 12:58 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by LOCtronicz » Fri Apr 26, 2013 9:27 am

MEGA wrote:

if you have a DVD drive:
turn the WKF OFF and play audio streaming titles from DVD ( with megawire mod )

if you do not have a DVD drive:
turn the WKF ON and play audio streaming titles from SD ( muted audio and no crash )
Yes clear! @Emu would be nice if you could. Then we always turn it off not matter the way you are planning to use it.
Interested in more of my projects?? Check my facebook page:

http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100001843721188

Or email me at loctronics@gmail.com with your request.
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by megalomaniac » Fri Apr 26, 2013 10:43 am

HERE IT IS


watch the video for instructions
new version of swiss flasher is required


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eaNWNP0ZfG4
Attachments
swiss_Flasher.dol.zip
swiss flasher
(770.46 KiB) Downloaded 1647 times
swiss_r214_10FW.zip
swiss r214 with 1.0 downgrade
(811.1 KiB) Downloaded 585 times
WKF_10_restore.zip
WKF 1.0 Restore
(359.8 KiB) Downloaded 560 times
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
LOCtronicz
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 12:58 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by LOCtronicz » Fri Apr 26, 2013 12:07 pm

YESSSS!!!! Time to downgrade my old wiikey's!! Awesome! I'll let you know how it goes.
Interested in more of my projects?? Check my facebook page:

http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100001843721188

Or email me at loctronics@gmail.com with your request.
Duhasst0
Posts: 179
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 1:35 am

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by Duhasst0 » Fri Apr 26, 2013 12:09 pm

Thanks for all the hard work guysi will be testing as soon as my sd geckos come in.
LOCtronicz
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 12:58 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by LOCtronicz » Fri Apr 26, 2013 12:19 pm

On a side note. the swiis flasher dol what has been changed in comparison to the r174 dol?

EDIT: all my wiikey fusions are now autoboot!! Thanks allot MEGA. I'll do some in depth testing but as far as I can tell everything is working perfectly.
Interested in more of my projects?? Check my facebook page:

http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100001843721188

Or email me at loctronics@gmail.com with your request.
User avatar
ShockSlayer
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2011 7:21 pm

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by ShockSlayer » Fri Apr 26, 2013 1:48 pm

So, downgrade to 1.0, then upgrade to Swiss? That's all it takes? I take it this works because Swiss doesn't write over whatever made the 1.0 wiikey's autoboot.

SS
Image
User avatar
Ashen
Posts: 994
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by Ashen » Fri Apr 26, 2013 2:38 pm

Nice job Mega! just tested, working great. Thanks!
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by megalomaniac » Fri Apr 26, 2013 11:05 pm

ShockSlayer wrote:So, downgrade to 1.0, then upgrade to Swiss? That's all it takes?
you can completely downgrade using the 1.0 restore, or just use the swiss w/1.0 firmware package i uploaded
ShockSlayer wrote:I take it this works because Swiss doesn't write over whatever made the 1.0 wiikey's autoboot.
SS
exactly...swiss never did overwrite the "base" WKF firmware....
WE ALL overwrote the "base" firmware by using the 1.5 upgrade iso and broke autoboot ourselves...
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
User avatar
MockyLock
Posts: 325
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 8:12 pm

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by MockyLock » Fri Apr 26, 2013 11:19 pm

Just as reminder...
the swiss version flashed for WKF autoboot is 1.0, right ?
does the audio streaming work with this firmware or do we still need 1.3 version ?
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by megalomaniac » Fri Apr 26, 2013 11:45 pm

MockyLock wrote:Just as reminder...
the swiss version flashed for WKF autoboot is 1.0, right ?
does the audio streaming work with this firmware or do we still need 1.3 version ?
think of it like this:
there are two layers to WKF
one layer is the firmware
one layer is the menu


1.0 firmware allows autoboot, all other firmware breaks autoboot for GC
1.0 menu does not display GC titles correctly, 1.3+ menu displays GC titles correctly



audio streaming behavior is a WKF firmware dependent setting...
this has nothing to do with swiss as the "menu" or using the original wkf "menu"
the firmware will control ability to "properly play" audio streaming titles


define "properly play"

Code: Select all

with WKF configuration menu setting: "WKF OFF"
DVD playback of audio streaming titles works with megawire mod
SD playback of audio streaming titles will crash

*ideal setup for GC with DVD drive

Code: Select all

with WKF configuration menu setting: "WKF ON"
DVD playback of audio streaming titles will crash
SD playback of audio streaming titles will be mute (no audio)

*ideal setup for GC with NO DVD drive (portables)
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by megalomaniac » Sat Apr 27, 2013 2:43 am

more testing:

this is very interesting....because my testing results may now contradict my previous statement
megalomaniac wrote:audio streaming behavior is a WKF firmware dependent setting...
this has nothing to do with swiss as the "menu" or using the original wkf "menu"
using WKF OFF with ORIGINAL WKF MENU and FIRMWARE
audiostreaming titles will crash from SD


using WKF OFF with SWISS MENU and 1.0 FIRMWARE
audiostreaming titles will play from SD muted (with no crash)


it appears swiss will already "correct" audio streaming to prevent crashing



as ive said before, this is all new data that will have to be analyzed and confirmed to provide future recommended setup configurations...i urge everyone to test and try it out with NO FEAR of anything happening to your WKF....
worst case scenario, just use the 1.2 recovery iso

i have already "bricked" a WKF doing stupid shit for the sake of testing and the 1.2 recovery iso worked to revive the WKF...so try it out..
if you dont like autoboot or just dont like new changes and developments then restore your WKF back to normal and keep using your pin29 switch...
its your GC, do what you want....
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4573
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by emu_kidid » Sat Apr 27, 2013 3:47 am

yeah, not bad for a few minutes of IRC code snippets yesterday. feels like we really achieved something now :)

I'm going to merge these changes I made for the "flasher" edition so normal swiss will also be able to do it via an extra WKF menu.

Swiss does try its best to adjust to mute audio streaming, and any patching the WKF might try to do will probably be avoided when Swiss is running, which explains the working Audio Streaming games in 1.0 w/ Swiss.
Image
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by megalomaniac » Sat Apr 27, 2013 3:52 am

emu_kidid wrote:Swiss does try its best to adjust to mute audio streaming, and any patching the WKF might try to do will probably be avoided when Swiss is running, which explains the working Audio Streaming games in 1.0 w/ Swiss.


this test was with WKF OFF
which means WKF was not patching the iso from SD....this also means swiss was able to successfully correct audio streaming to avoid crashing!!! :D
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
User avatar
MarSAttK
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2012 7:10 pm

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by MarSAttK » Sun Apr 28, 2013 1:48 pm

Alright, here's what I got...

Followed the video instructions step by step but didn't get autoboot. It seems as if the WKF needs a bit more time to start since the blue light comes maybe half a second later (compared to megalomaniac's). Of course it does load swiss, but you have to go through the process of selecting it.

I decided to start building from the ground and went back to stock FW 1.0 using the recovery, then upgraded to stock FW 1.5, flashed swiss 174 and finally the new 214 with 1.0 FW with the same results... but anyways, it's an improvement over having to press the pin 29 switch every time.

Maybe my WKF is a bit lazy!

Edit: Forgot to mention that when under stock FW 1.0 the GC autoboots into de WKF screen without any issues.
LOCtronicz
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 12:58 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by LOCtronicz » Sun Apr 28, 2013 3:44 pm

Think it has something to do with the speed of the sd card. Cause I have the same issue but not with all sd cards. For some reason the wiikey isn't fast enough to initialize the sd card in the slot.
Interested in more of my projects?? Check my facebook page:

http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100001843721188

Or email me at loctronics@gmail.com with your request.
User avatar
MarSAttK
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2012 7:10 pm

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by MarSAttK » Sun Apr 28, 2013 6:50 pm

LOCtronics: You were right about the SD Card! Tried with a different card (microSD, the first one was SD) and it worked, too bad it's only 4GB in capacity.

Do you think it has to do with the class of the card? Size? Or is it just random?
LOCtronicz
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 12:58 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by LOCtronicz » Sun Apr 28, 2013 7:28 pm

Well the funny thing is I have a 4gb ultra sandisk 15mb/s class 4 card which doesn't boot directly into the menu but I have a 16gb sd card with the exact same specs which does. I have a 4gb mirco sandisk, 8gb ultra 2 class 4 sandisk and a 32gb class 10 which all don't boot directly into the menu.

I have to say I can't really say what it is exactly. I plan on buying a 64gb sd card to see if that works properly. It's not a big deal though but would still be nice if it did boot directly.
Interested in more of my projects?? Check my facebook page:

http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100001843721188

Or email me at loctronics@gmail.com with your request.
Post Reply