WKF Autoboot discovered

User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by megalomaniac » Tue Jul 16, 2013 10:38 pm

fzn = menu = swiss
fzn.fw = firmware


all you need is swiss.fzn to update swiss versions...
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
User avatar
Drakon
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 2:55 am
Location: Toronto Canada
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by Drakon » Tue Jul 16, 2013 11:26 pm

megalomaniac wrote:fzn = menu = swiss
fzn.fw = firmware


all you need is swiss.fzn to update swiss versions...
That's the only file that was on the sd card, the .fzn and it still said it found the firmware and updated it to something that wouldn't auto load.

*edit*

Nevermind it worked, guess I did something wrong the first time?
Last edited by Drakon on Tue Jul 16, 2013 11:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4539
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by emu_kidid » Tue Jul 16, 2013 11:28 pm

did you use the latest Swiss to do this? there was one version that would "find" the "file" (really it didn't find anything) and would flash garbage. Doing this causes a restore to occur internally on the WKF and if you previously had 1.5 on there, I believe it may have restored that.

Boot up Swiss r223 and flash it all via SDGecko.
Image
User avatar
Drakon
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 2:55 am
Location: Toronto Canada
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by Drakon » Tue Jul 16, 2013 11:35 pm

emu_kidid wrote:did you use the latest Swiss to do this? there was one version that would "find" the "file" (really it didn't find anything) and would flash garbage. Doing this causes a restore to occur internally on the WKF and if you previously had 1.5 on there, I believe it may have restored that.

Boot up Swiss r223 and flash it all via SDGecko.
I just had success getting r221 on without killing autoboot so I guess the version I used before was a bad one. I don't know where to download r223 from :(

...unless that was a typo for r221. Sorry for all the dumb stuff, I just got started with the gamecube with zero knowledge or experience very recently.
User avatar
keropi
Posts: 167
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 9:41 pm

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by keropi » Wed Jul 17, 2013 8:11 am

removed
User avatar
Drakon
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 2:55 am
Location: Toronto Canada
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by Drakon » Wed Jul 17, 2013 12:43 pm

I found the culprit firmware killing file. I loaded only "swiss_r221(pal).fzn" on a sd card, run it in swiss and it says "firmware file found will flash that too". This is the stupid file that kills autoboot when you try to update to it.

Is it safe to use the ntsc version instead? I've had good success with the ntsc file except metroid prime refuses to run. The ntsc file doesn't kill autoboot.

*edit*

Doesn't make a difference if I use pal or ntsc. If the current flashed version is pal and I try to flash a ntsc menu without firmware, or vice versa, it nukes the firmware even if there's no firmware file on the sd card.
User avatar
Drakon
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 2:55 am
Location: Toronto Canada
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by Drakon » Thu Jul 25, 2013 10:58 pm

I have a question. My wiikey fusion is flashed with autobooting swiss. When I insert a regular 512meg sd card into the wkf slot it loads right into swiss without me pressing anything. When I insert a 32gb microsd card with adapter into my wkf slot the system loads into the main system menu and I hate to scroll up to start swiss. I don't have to press any switches, I'm just wondering why I have to navigate the menu with my microsd adapter but not a regular sd card.

I also read that swiss supports up to 128gb sd xc cards, is that through the wkf slot or another slot like a sd gecko?
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by megalomaniac » Thu Jul 25, 2013 11:05 pm

some cards will not allow autoboot and only allow an autoload function
dont ask why...there is no answer yet for why this happens, but it is card related
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
Duhasst0
Posts: 179
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 1:35 am

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by Duhasst0 » Thu Jul 25, 2013 11:49 pm

megalomaniac wrote:some cards will not allow autoboot and only allow an autoload function
dont ask why...there is no answer yet for why this happens, but it is card related
I have 3 cards 2 auto load the other auto boots.
User avatar
Drakon
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 2:55 am
Location: Toronto Canada
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by Drakon » Fri Jul 26, 2013 12:27 pm

megalomaniac wrote:some cards will not allow autoboot and only allow an autoload function
dont ask why...there is no answer yet for why this happens, but it is card related
Thanks man. Glad to know it's not because it's using a microsd adapter it's the card itself. Still navigating that menu is way less work than hitting that switch every time I boot the system.
User avatar
wii_HD
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 8:27 pm
Location: United KIngdom

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by wii_HD » Wed Jul 31, 2013 7:46 pm

megalomaniac wrote:some cards will not allow autoboot and only allow an autoload function
dont ask why...there is no answer yet for why this happens, but it is card related
What about a diagnostic tool such as windows - h2testw - which shows read and write speeds on a fresh formatted flash device.
Playing - Super Mario Sunshine - DariusBurst CS - Hotline Miami 2 - Rpi2 Lakka - X360 BurnOut Paradise City
User avatar
badsector
Posts: 195
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 12:42 pm
Location: Berlin

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by badsector » Wed Jan 29, 2014 4:54 pm

Quick question, since I finally will install the MegaDrive and WKF (with Swiss autoboot): Will I need the pin 29 switch for anything? I know, that it is not needed for booting anymore, but will I need any switch for multi disc support (short info: I am keeping my DVD drive, if this information helps).
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by megalomaniac » Wed Jan 29, 2014 7:25 pm

I always recommend installing P29 switch...I use the switch all the time..
The only advantage for swiss autoboot vs swiss non-autoboot is you don't need to hit the switch upon start up...
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
User avatar
RazorX2014
Posts: 165
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 6:50 pm

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by RazorX2014 » Mon Dec 22, 2014 8:33 pm

were does the 1.9v wire from the momentary switch get soldered too?
on the gamecube motherboard if so where or does it get soldered onto the megadrive v3?
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1736
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by Streetwalker » Mon Dec 22, 2014 9:48 pm

Afaik the wasp doesn't need it, you just wire an NC switch between pin 29 and ground.
User avatar
RazorX2014
Posts: 165
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 6:50 pm

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by RazorX2014 » Mon Dec 22, 2014 10:34 pm

i think i understand thank you
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by megalomaniac » Tue Dec 23, 2014 2:42 am

Streetwalker wrote:Afaik the wasp doesn't need it, you just wire an NC switch between pin 29 and ground.

yes and no...
keep in mind there are some very instances where WKF/WASP actually need 1.9v...
its vary rare and usually this behavior is only noticed when using official WKF firmware...
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
User avatar
RazorX2014
Posts: 165
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 6:50 pm

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by RazorX2014 » Tue Dec 23, 2014 11:54 am

megalomaniac you know the score ive asked and asked and i still dont have the answer can you please tell me where i solder the 1.9v wire from the momentary switch too thanks
Duhasst0
Posts: 179
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 1:35 am

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by Duhasst0 » Tue Dec 23, 2014 3:58 pm

Yo, razorx2014, everyone has already told, it's not needed. You just need a normally closed switch connect it between pin 29 and ground. Have fun.
User avatar
RazorX2014
Posts: 165
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 6:50 pm

Re: WKF Autoboot discovered

Post by RazorX2014 » Tue Dec 23, 2014 4:26 pm

mega said it was recommended though but anyway i figured it out, im probs not gonna add it i just wanted to know where it went
Post Reply