Game Boy Interface

Release threads for homebrew & utilities only
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 751
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Wed Aug 07, 2019 2:48 am

KentaZX wrote:
Wed Aug 07, 2019 2:08 am
wait, if the GCHD preset sets to 480p, then how come I get a "mode not supported" error on my TV? I was able to set to 480p just fine before with the standard and the HF edition....does the GCHD preset uses HD60 instead of NTSC? If so then thats probably why it wont work on me. Because whenever I tried on the standard edition to switch from NTSC to HD60, I just lose the signal.
I said it sets 960i. HD60 is generally not compatible with GCVideo.
KentaZX
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 9:27 am

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by KentaZX » Wed Aug 07, 2019 3:03 am

Oh. so does that mean I'm SOL for now? Or is there a way to open the Dol+ ClI file so I can set it to 480p and NTSC?
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 751
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Wed Aug 07, 2019 3:16 am

For the standard edition, the only difference from the default settings would be the zoom level. 960i is NTSC.
KentaZX
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 9:27 am

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by KentaZX » Wed Aug 07, 2019 3:46 am

So I set the standard resolution to 960i then?, change the zoom level according to the wiki and set the format as NTSC? thats it?
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 751
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Wed Aug 07, 2019 3:47 am

That's doing the same as the preset and won't get you anywhere.
KentaZX
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 9:27 am

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by KentaZX » Wed Aug 07, 2019 4:05 am

Extrems wrote:
Wed Aug 07, 2019 3:47 am
That's doing the same as the preset and won't get you anywhere.
okay then I'm not understanding something here... Am I supposed to tweak the standard edition in my case? because as I stated before, using the GCHD preset wont even give me a signal to my TV saying "resolution is not supported".

and I can't do 240p apparently either so the obvious choice would be using NTSC 480p, but what else after that in the standard DOL settings?
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 751
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Wed Aug 07, 2019 4:17 am

Nothing. Just use the defaults. NTSC 480p is already the default.
KentaZX
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 9:27 am

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by KentaZX » Wed Aug 07, 2019 5:10 am

Ah I see. One more question, you know how in standard you have those controls like the L & R to zoom in and zoom out and the other controls, are they going to be added in the HF edition in the future?
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 751
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Wed Aug 07, 2019 5:15 am

It's not possible to implement zooming in a useful capacity without breaking the 4:4:4 specification (which is broken by GCVideo anyway), and then it wouldn't have any reason to exist.
KentaZX
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 9:27 am

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by KentaZX » Wed Aug 07, 2019 5:44 am

I see. Thank you for the response.
rng_zeus
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2019 12:42 am

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by rng_zeus » Mon Aug 19, 2019 8:06 pm

I ran the three different versions of GBI (sr, hf, regular) and somehow the button mapping got permanently messed up no matter which version I use now, possibly because one of the versions I ran had a preset maybe? In short, the L and R buttons on both my Wavebird and GBA wired into my Gamecube act as start and select and the X and Y on my Wavebird are acting as L and R instead. I was trying to figure out if there was something in the cli file that could return the mapping to normal but I can't figure out how to actually make the change and append the cli file onto the gci file for GBi. For reference, I use my soft-modded Wii with GCMM to transfer the files from my pc -> sd card -> wii -> gamecube memory card and boot into Swiss or directly into GBi through a save hack of 007: Agent Under Fire. Thanks!
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 751
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Mon Aug 19, 2019 8:35 pm

There's a bug in upstream libogc where mounting a memory card will corrupt the Game Boy Player Start-up Disc settings, so you're now on control type B.

The standard edition only has one control scheme and can't be affected by this.
rng_zeus
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2019 12:42 am

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by rng_zeus » Mon Aug 19, 2019 8:57 pm

Extrems wrote:
Mon Aug 19, 2019 8:35 pm
There's a bug in upstream libogc where mounting a memory card will corrupt the Game Boy Player Start-up Disc settings, so you're now on control type B.

The standard edition only has one control scheme and can't be affected by this.
Thanks for the quick reply. Is it possible to play using hf with the correct control scheme? I've tried deleting everything from the memory cards, redownloading the hf from the site again but I have the same problem as if the control scheme is hard coded onto the hardware or something. I was able to to play using the normal scheme until I ran sr for the first time with a preset I think. Any ideas?
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 751
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Mon Aug 19, 2019 9:03 pm

The only way to fix it without changing the setting with the Game Boy Player Start-up Disc, or clearing the system's battery-backed SRAM, and never using a memory card in Swiss again, is by appending command-line arguments to the executable.
User avatar
Papy.G
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 6:14 am
Location: France, Occitanie
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Papy.G » Thu Aug 22, 2019 12:20 pm

Extrems wrote:
Mon Aug 19, 2019 8:35 pm
There's a bug in upstream libogc where mounting a memory card will corrupt the Game Boy Player Start-up Disc settings, so you're now on control type B.
Would a next libogc update be able to fix this issue so the subsequent GBI updates will correct this?
Overclocked DMG
AGB/supercard miniSD
DS Fat/NeoMK3 2006 512Mb
DS Lite/flashme V8noautostealth/Supercard miniSD
DOL001(EUR)/RGB/GBP/WiiSD+Gamexploit
RVL 001/RGB/CMP/WiiSD
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 751
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Thu Aug 22, 2019 1:44 pm

GBI doesn't use upstream libogc, nor does it mount memory cards (yet). It's already been fixed for years in its fork.
rng_zeus
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2019 12:42 am

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by rng_zeus » Sat Aug 24, 2019 5:22 pm

Extrems wrote:
Mon Aug 19, 2019 9:03 pm
The only way to fix it without changing the setting with the Game Boy Player Start-up Disc, or clearing the system's battery-backed SRAM, and never using a memory card in Swiss again, is by appending command-line arguments to the executable.
I created a cli using the argument:

--control=0
--

I appended the cli to the dol, then dol2gci but still having the issue in-game with the controller being type B. Is there something wrong with the argument?
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 751
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Game Boy Interface

Post by Extrems » Sat Aug 24, 2019 5:23 pm

No.
Post Reply