Swiss and In-Game-Reset

Discuss one of the most feature filled GameCube applications here :)
Post Reply
Sowden1
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 2:38 pm

Swiss and In-Game-Reset

Post by Sowden1 » Sat Mar 31, 2018 2:08 pm

Hey ho guys. I was trying out this feature of swiss as its great that I can load my backups without having to get up and hit the reset button. You can do a internal reset by turning it to Reset on in the Global Options, and when your in a game you use R+Z+B+D-Pad Down as a button combination (it also activates the monkey GC splash, nice touch :). But my problem with it is that it always boots the the DVD that I'm using to boot swiss. It won't read my SDcard even if I press Z to Show All Devices and select it from there. The only way I can get to my SDcard again is if I get up and hit the reset button on my GC :\ Is there something I'm missing? I'm using Swiss 0.4 rev 431. Thanks.
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1744
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: Swiss and In-Game-Reset

Post by Streetwalker » Sat Mar 31, 2018 5:24 pm

That's a known issue. For some reason, the SD card won't be seen until you pull the adapter out of the GC and plug it back in. I've never really looked into it so I have no idea how hard it would be to fix it.
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4697
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Swiss and In-Game-Reset

Post by emu_kidid » Tue Apr 03, 2018 1:51 pm

I believe a card reset is probably needed to get it out of a mid read state because in game I do some dodgy things to make large contiguous reads fast by not ending the read commands unless if I have to.
Image
Sowden1
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 2:38 pm

Re: Swiss and In-Game-Reset

Post by Sowden1 » Wed Apr 04, 2018 10:26 pm

So it doesn't seem like a fixable thing?
User avatar
Streetwalker
Posts: 1744
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:50 am
Location: Israel

Re: Swiss and In-Game-Reset

Post by Streetwalker » Wed Apr 04, 2018 10:45 pm

It should be fixable but requires investigation.
Sowden1
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 2:38 pm

Re: Swiss and In-Game-Reset

Post by Sowden1 » Wed Apr 04, 2018 10:49 pm

Cool beans!
Sowden1
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 2:38 pm

Re: Swiss and In-Game-Reset

Post by Sowden1 » Sun Dec 30, 2018 7:28 pm

By the way, I only now noticed that this issue got fixed by rev 533. Thanks for your great work guys!
Schwitzer2k6
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2020 8:06 pm

Re: Swiss and In-Game-Reset

Post by Schwitzer2k6 » Mon Jan 27, 2020 8:15 pm

Hi im new to this scene after i got a sd2sp board :mrgreen:
And i got a question im running Swiss via the windwaker save Game exploit...and everything Runs smooth so far...but how does this in Game reset Work?! Thats one Thing i dont get to Work...maybe someone can lighten me Up or give me a hand ;)

What i has to do or which File i got to copy and rename?!

Thx in advance :!:
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4697
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Swiss and In-Game-Reset

Post by emu_kidid » Mon Jan 27, 2020 11:32 pm

You need to put swiss.dol named as igr.dol on your SD card, then navigate to the settings in Swiss and set In Game Reset to igr.dol. The button combo is D-PAD down + Right Trigger + Z + B
Image
Schwitzer2k6
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2020 8:06 pm

Re: Swiss and In-Game-Reset

Post by Schwitzer2k6 » Tue Jan 28, 2020 7:22 pm

Thx 4 the reply and the help.... i got IT to work :mrgreen: Sometimes mostly the Game hangs Up and freezes... :roll:
But its all good maybe the SD Card is to Big with 400GB...
GizmoTheGreen
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2018 12:40 pm

Re: Swiss and In-Game-Reset

Post by GizmoTheGreen » Sat Feb 01, 2020 2:29 am

emu_kidid wrote:
Mon Jan 27, 2020 11:32 pm
You need to put swiss.dol named as igr.dol on your SD card, then navigate to the settings in Swiss and set In Game Reset to igr.dol. The button combo is D-PAD down + Right Trigger + Z + B
Why not Swiss.dol or boot.dol(for gcloader)?
Is there any time you'd want something other than Swiss as igr?
This just bloats my Swiss filelist with more than one copy of Swiss. The first one which should be hidden by default imho...
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 1003
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Swiss and In-Game-Reset

Post by Extrems » Sat Feb 01, 2020 3:38 am

I personally don't have Swiss as igr.dol and I put the most work into that feature. So, uh, yeah.

I probably also use it more than anyone, and if you think otherwise, you need to settle down and play a damn game already.
GizmoTheGreen
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2018 12:40 pm

Re: Swiss and In-Game-Reset

Post by GizmoTheGreen » Sat Feb 01, 2020 10:59 pm

Extrems wrote:
Sat Feb 01, 2020 3:38 am
I personally don't have Swiss as igr.dol and I put the most work into that feature. So, uh, yeah.

I probably also use it more than anyone, and if you think otherwise, you need to settle down and play a damn game already.
out of curiosity what -do- you have as igr.dol?
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 1003
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Swiss and In-Game-Reset

Post by Extrems » Sun Feb 02, 2020 12:55 am

A newer version of Calibrator with an integrated wiiload server, using the Broadband Adapter.
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4697
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Swiss and In-Game-Reset

Post by emu_kidid » Wed Feb 05, 2020 2:13 am

Depends on the cube, I have swiss as my igr.dol on the one I play games on (who plays games, it's all about trying them from a different medium for 2-5 minutes and then going back to look at the swiss source on what to improve next!), on another I have usb-load to load other DOLs from USBGecko etc.
Image
Stoneman
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2020 2:51 am

Re: Swiss and In-Game-Reset

Post by Stoneman » Sun Mar 08, 2020 9:19 pm

May someone confirm if IGR is working on:
PAL GameCube
FW GCLoader_Updater_1.0.0.dol
swiss_r785.dol
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 1003
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Swiss and In-Game-Reset

Post by Extrems » Sun Mar 08, 2020 9:22 pm

It is working, but it's never been reliable.
Stoneman
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2020 2:51 am

Re: Swiss and In-Game-Reset

Post by Stoneman » Mon Mar 09, 2020 9:17 am

Some games works, sone games not. A Question: ist SDLOADER.BIN and swiss.dol (besides igr.dol) needed?
User avatar
Papy.G
Posts: 513
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 6:14 am
Location: France, Occitanie
Contact:

Re: Swiss and In-Game-Reset

Post by Papy.G » Mon Apr 13, 2020 8:23 pm

Extrems wrote:
Sun Mar 08, 2020 9:22 pm
It is working, but it's never been reliable.
Would it be more reliable re-directing the unit's reset button interrupt instead of a gamepad button combination?

It may be nice to have this option too, if ever possible.
DMG/MF OC, AGB/SC miniSD, NTR/NeoMK3, USG/flashme V8/SC miniSD
DOL001(EUR)/RGB/GCPlug/GBP/SD2SP2, RVL 001(EUR)/RGB/CMP/WiiSD

Zelda WW with Tingle Tuner in split screen was what the GC RF modulator was made for! (Video)
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 1003
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Swiss and In-Game-Reset

Post by Extrems » Mon Apr 13, 2020 9:36 pm

The button combination is not the problem.
User avatar
Diego borella
Posts: 139
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2020 8:37 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: Swiss and In-Game-Reset

Post by Diego borella » Tue Jun 09, 2020 7:19 pm

in revision 327 the log says:
Stop streaming audio on IGR.
what does that mean;
what is the functionality of this?
User avatar
Extrems
Posts: 1003
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:40 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Swiss and In-Game-Reset

Post by Extrems » Tue Jun 09, 2020 7:57 pm

The game's music would keep playing as normal.
Post Reply