Gameboy Player 240p - What do I need?

Discuss one of the most feature filled GameCube applications here :)
Post Reply
helswake
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2015 5:00 pm

Gameboy Player 240p - What do I need?

Post by helswake » Sat Apr 18, 2015 5:09 pm

Hey guys. I've seen some videos of game captures from the GBP using Swiss to output 240p and the results look fantastic!
I would also like to do the same, but I cannot find any documentation or instruction for doing so. The closest thing I could find was this page:
http://retrorgb.com/gameboyplayer.html

It says very little about HOW to get it working. All it says is that I need an SD Media Launcher. Is that the only thing that I need in order to do this? I'm guessing I just download the Swiss build and load it onto my SD card, put it in my cube with the SDML boot disc, right? I'm sorry if this is explained elsewhere but I have spent a couple hours searching around trying to figure it out. I don't want to drop $30 on a piece of hardware that I can't use or need something else, you know? Thanks
User avatar
megalomaniac
Posts: 2480
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:33 am
Location: Drunk in Texas
Contact:

Re: Gameboy Player 240p - What do I need?

Post by megalomaniac » Sat Apr 18, 2015 5:21 pm

need SDML ????


i hope you did not already buy SDML....but there are many other options available and SDML is the worst one of all...
well SDML is the best method for people who are scared to mod their system...
but considering the price of SDML, there are other hardware mods that can be done for cheaper or same price...

if you have not bought SDML, i would hope you explore the other options available to modify your system to make an informed decision...
emu_kidid wrote: beer is like WD40 for megalomaniac's brain, gets the gears moving
>>> BadAssConsoles.com <<<

Image Image Image
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4496
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Gameboy Player 240p - What do I need?

Post by emu_kidid » Sun Apr 19, 2015 12:53 am

Game Boy Interface: viewtopic.php?f=37&t=2782
Image
Duhasst0
Posts: 179
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 1:35 am

Re: Gameboy Player 240p - What do I need?

Post by Duhasst0 » Sun Apr 19, 2015 6:47 am

He will need the component cable for the progressive output tho right?
FIX94
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 1:55 pm

Re: Gameboy Player 240p - What do I need?

Post by FIX94 » Sun Apr 19, 2015 4:37 pm

Duhasst0 wrote:He will need the component cable for the progressive output tho right?
I get 240p 60fps progressive from my composite cables no problem.
helswake
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2015 5:00 pm

Re: Gameboy Player 240p - What do I need?

Post by helswake » Mon Apr 20, 2015 4:39 am

No i haven't bought the SDML yet. I was waiting to see what I could learn about doing this. I have an NTSC-J GameCube that I want to do a region mod on so that may be an avenue that I would consider. I would love to know about my options here.
User avatar
emu_kidid
Site Admin
Posts: 4496
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Gameboy Player 240p - What do I need?

Post by emu_kidid » Mon Apr 20, 2015 5:27 am

You basically need any ability to boot homebrew, once you can, that's enough.

http://www.gc-forever.com/wiki/index.ph ... g_Homebrew for more info.
Image
BenoitRen
Posts: 263
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2012 3:37 pm

Re: Gameboy Player 240p - What do I need?

Post by BenoitRen » Mon Apr 20, 2015 10:04 am

Duhasst0 wrote:He will need the component cable for the progressive output tho right?
Not at all. You do need one for 480p, but not for 240p. 240p is basically a clever hack of 480i, so it works just fine on RF, composite and RGB SCART. :)
Hardware: Wii (PAL)
Hardware configuration: System Menu 4.1E, Priiloader
Swiss boot method: Modified Wii Swiss Booter provided by Extrems
Software medium: Retail discs
XC-3730C
Posts: 93
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2015 7:02 am

Re: Gameboy Player 240p - What do I need?

Post by XC-3730C » Wed Oct 21, 2015 12:35 am

Can I somehow do 240p via component? I load up swiss 0.3 with my Max Drive Pro, but the option to change to 240p isn't there...
Post Reply